Revise with instant feedback: the moment you pick an answer you see whether it was right, with the written, source-cited explanation. Untimed — ideal before you sit a mock exam. Questions you miss keep coming back until you know them.
Exam-day conditions: no feedback until you submit, each module scored separately so you can see your weak areas, plus an overall score against the pass mark, with a full question-by-question review at the end.
Each module is scored separately here so you know exactly where you stand. To pass the real Iowa exam you need the passing score the Iowa Insurance Division sets — Iowa publishes no threshold anywhere, so this practice exam scores you against 70% as a conservative benchmark.
The free sample is one full practice exam's worth of questions for each exam on this page, with at least 5 in every module so you can revise each topic: 176 questions in all. The full bank contains every question — general insurance plus state law — with written, statute-cited explanations. $49, one time, lifetime access on up to 3 devices — every state and line we add later included.
✓ One purchase, use it on up to 3 of your devices · no subscription · no account needed
| Delivered by | Pearson VUE |
|---|---|
| Official exam | Life (12-IA-01) and Accident & Health (12-IA-02); separate exams |
| Questions | Life: 77 scored + 10 pretest (general 50 + 5, Iowa 27 + 5); Accident & Health: 80 scored + 10 pretest (general 50 + 5, Iowa 30 + 5) |
| Time | 2 hours per exam |
| Passing score | Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published |
| Exam fee | $44 per exam |
| Book your exam | wsr.pearsonvue.com/testtaker/signin/SignInPage/IOWAINSURANCE?locale=en_US |
Checked 11 October 2026 from the official sources below. Rules and fees change, so confirm with Pearson VUE before you book.
Evergreen is a $49 practice question bank, not a pre-licensing course. Here is how it stacks up against the courses and other banks candidates usually consider, including where they are the better choice. See the comparison with Kaplan, ExamFX, XCEL and others.
This page practises 3 Iowa exams. Choose yours at the top of the page and the practice tests switch to its length, topic weights and pass mark. Your progress on each question carries across.
| Exam | Official exam | Scored questions | Time | Pass mark |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Life & Health: both exams | Life (12-IA-01) and Accident & Health (12-IA-02); separate exams | Life: 77 scored + 10 pretest (general 50 + 5, Iowa 27 + 5); Accident & Health: 80 scored + 10 pretest (general 50 + 5, Iowa 30 + 5) | 2 hours per exam | Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published |
| Life only | 12-IA-01 · Life | 77 (50 general + 27 Iowa) | 2 hours | Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published; no percentage published, so practice scores against 70% as a benchmark |
| Health only | 12-IA-02 · Accident & Health | 80 (50 general + 30 Iowa) | 2 hours | Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published; no percentage published, so practice scores against 70% as a benchmark |
Iowa has no combined Life & Health exam. Life (12-IA-01) and Accident & Health (12-IA-02) are two separate two-hour Pearson VUE exams: Life is 50 general plus 27 Iowa questions, Accident & Health is 50 general plus 30 Iowa, and in each case 15 of the Iowa questions are the block common to all lines. The Iowa Insurance Division sets the passing score and publishes no percentage anywhere - not in the Pearson VUE handbook, not in Iowa Code 522B.4, not in the rules - so this practice exam scores you against 70% as a conservative benchmark. The exam-length drill here is built to the larger of the two state sections, so a candidate sitting the Life paper practises a little more Iowa law than the real exam asks. This bank covers the Iowa law and the general insurance material for both lines. This page practises both exams together, so its full practice exam mixes the two lines and is not the length of either real exam; the exam facts card shows each one.
You need the passing score the Iowa Insurance Division sets — Iowa publishes no threshold anywhere, so this practice exam scores you against 70% as a conservative benchmark. Revise each module to that level in Revision Mode, then run the full exam simulation in Exam Mode before your test date.
No vendor publishes the live exam. Every question here is original, written to the official content outline and grounded in public-domain sources — including the Iowa Code, Title XIII for the state-law questions, with the statute section cited in each explanation.
The full Iowa bank contains 1119 questions (general insurance plus Iowa law), with written, source-cited explanations. The free sample is one full practice exam's worth of questions for each exam on this page, with at least 5 in every module so you can revise each topic: 176 questions in all.
$49, one time, for lifetime access — and it includes every state and line we add later, at no extra charge. No subscription.
Yes. One purchase works on up to 3 of your devices, for example your laptop, phone and tablet, so you can practise wherever you are. Your progress is saved on each device.
No. The practice tests run in your browser with no signup. Your score history is saved on your own device.
Yes. Choose Life only at the top of this page and the practice tests switch to the Iowa exam (12-IA-01): 77 scored questions (50 general and 27 on Iowa law), 2 hours, pass mark Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published; no percentage published, so practice scores against 70% as a benchmark. Revision Mode, Exam Mode and your score history then follow that exam, and the same purchase unlocks it.
Yes. Choose Health only at the top of this page and the practice tests switch to the Iowa exam (12-IA-02): 80 scored questions (50 general and 30 on Iowa law), 2 hours, pass mark Determined by the Iowa Insurance Division; no figure published; no percentage published, so practice scores against 70% as a benchmark. Revision Mode, Exam Mode and your score history then follow that exam, and the same purchase unlocks it.
It is organised into 18 modules that follow the exam's own content areas: Life: Types of Policies, Life: Provisions, Riders & Options, Life: Underwriting, Premium & Taxation, Annuities & Retirement, Health: Plans, Provisions & Disability, Health: Medicare, Social Insurance & LTC, General Regulation & Ethics, Iowa — Insurance Division & Commissioner, Iowa — Producer Licensing, Iowa — Continuing Education, Iowa — Insurance Trade Practices, Iowa — Life Insurance Companies & Provisions, Iowa — Replacement, Illustrations & Suitability, Iowa — Annuities, Variable Contracts & Viaticals, Iowa — Accident & Health Insurance, Iowa — Group Health & Continuation, Iowa — HMOs, Long-Term Care & Medicare Supplement and Iowa — Life & Health Guaranty Association. Each module is drilled and scored separately, so you can see exactly which areas are exam-ready and which still need work.
Last updated 29 October 2026. The bank is revised whenever the source material it cites changes, and every question carries the source its explanation is drawn from.
A selection of free questions with answers and explanations. Use the interactive modules above for timed, scored drills.
An Iowa carrier writing large group health coverage wants to exclude one employee's dependent from enrolment because of a heart condition, to charge a second employee a higher contribution because of her claims history, and to attach a rider to a third employee's certificate excluding one named disease. It also wants to offer premium discounts to employees who complete a wellness programme. What does IAC 191-35.24 provide?
Why: IAC 191-35.24 is the nondiscrimination rule for large group health coverage - rule 191-35.22 records that this division of chapter 35 implements Pub. L. 104-191 and Iowa Code section 509.3 FOR LARGE GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE. Subrule 35.24(1) lists EIGHT health status-related factors and the closing words of its opening sentence are what the answer confining the factors to the employee deletes: the prohibition operates IN RELATION TO THE INDIVIDUAL OR A DEPENDENT OF THE INDIVIDUAL. A carrier may no more exclude an employee because of her child's heart condition than because of her own. The eight are HEALTH STATUS; MEDICAL CONDITION, INCLUDING BOTH PHYSICAL AND MENTAL CONDITIONS; CLAIMS EXPERIENCE; RECEIPT OF HEALTH CARE; MEDICAL HISTORY; GENETIC INFORMATION; EVIDENCE OF INSURABILITY, INCLUDING CONDITIONS ARISING OUT OF ACTS OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE; and DISABILITY. Note the domestic violence limb, which exists because injuries from abuse were once treated as evidence of uninsurability. Subrule 35.24(2) is the limit on the rule and the answer requiring particular benefits inverts it: the prohibition DOES NOT REQUIRE GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE TO PROVIDE PARTICULAR BENEFITS OTHER THAN THOSE PROVIDED UNDER THE TERMS OF THE COVERAGE, AND DOES NOT PREVENT A COVERAGE FROM ESTABLISHING LIMITATIONS OR RESTRICTIONS ON THE AMOUNT, LEVEL, EXTENT, OR NATURE OF THE BENEFITS OR COVERAGE FOR SIMILARLY SITUATED INDIVIDUALS. The rule polices who is let in and what they pay, not how generous the plan is. Subrule 35.24(3) adds that rules for eligibility INCLUDE RULES DEFINING ANY APPLICABLE WAITING OR AFFILIATION PERIODS. Subrule 35.24(4) is the contribution rule - no individual may be required to pay A PREMIUM OR CONTRIBUTION WHICH IS GREATER THAN A PREMIUM OR CONTRIBUTION FOR A SIMILARLY SITUATED INDIVIDUAL on the basis of a health status-related factor - and it carries two express savings. It does NOT RESTRICT THE AMOUNT THAT AN EMPLOYER MAY BE CHARGED for the coverage, which that answer also gets wrong: the group's own rate may reflect its experience, it is the individual employee's contribution that may not. And it does not PREVENT A CARRIER OFFERING GROUP HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE FROM ESTABLISHING PREMIUM DISCOUNTS OR REBATES OR MODIFYING OTHERWISE APPLICABLE COPAYMENTS OR DEDUCTIBLES IN RETURN FOR ADHERENCE TO PROGRAMS OF HEALTH PROMOTION AND DISEASE PREVENTION - the wellness saving, which the answer prohibiting wellness discounts treats as itself prohibited. Subrule 35.24(5) answers the rider: a carrier SHALL NOT MODIFY A HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE WITH RESPECT TO AN EMPLOYER OR ANY ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEE OR DEPENDENT THROUGH RIDERS, ENDORSEMENTS OR OTHER MEANS, TO RESTRICT OR EXCLUDE COVERAGE OR BENEFITS FOR SPECIFIC DISEASES, MEDICAL CONDITIONS, OR SERVICES OTHERWISE COVERED BY THE HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE. OR OTHER MEANS closes the obvious workaround.
An Iowa insurer is working out which of its business falls under the Uniform Individual Accident and Sickness Act. It writes individual sickness policies, a blanket policy for a school, and it has been approached by a fraternal order that admits only steeplejacks and by a religious order. It also asks whether 'accident and health' and 'accident and sickness' mean different things. What does Iowa Code 514A.1 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 514A.1 does three things in three subsections. Subsection 1 defines the subject matter and then does something unusual and useful: FOR THE PURPOSES OF THIS CHAPTER THE WORDS 'POLICY OF ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS INSURANCE' ARE INTERCHANGEABLE WITHOUT DEVIATION OF MEANING WITH THE WORDS 'POLICY OF ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURANCE' OR THE WORDS 'POLICY OF ACCIDENT OR HEALTH INSURANCE'. The three phrases are one phrase. The answer treating 'accident and health' as narrower builds a distinction between them that the subsection expressly forecloses. Subsection 2 sets the scope and the word that matters is INDIVIDUAL: THIS CHAPTER APPLIES TO ALL INDIVIDUAL POLICIES OF SUCH ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS INSURANCE WRITTEN BY IOWA OR NON-IOWA COMPANIES OR ASSOCIATIONS DULY LICENSED UNDER CHAPTER 508, 515, OR 520 AND, SOCIETIES, ORDERS, OR ASSOCIATIONS LICENSED UNDER CHAPTER 512B WRITING SICKNESS AND ACCIDENT POLICIES PROVIDING BENEFITS FOR LOSS OF TIME. The answer applying the chapter to blanket and group policies sweeps them in, and section 514A.8 puts them expressly out - ANY BLANKET OR GROUP POLICY OF INSURANCE is one of the four things the chapter does not apply to. That is why the school's blanket policy is governed by IAC 191 chapter 35 rather than by this chapter. Note also the qualifier on the 512B limb: it reaches those societies only where the policies provide benefits FOR LOSS OF TIME. Subsection 3 carries two exemptions and the answer subjecting craft orders to the chapter deletes the first: ORDERS, SOCIETIES OR ASSOCIATIONS WHICH ADMIT TO MEMBERSHIP ONLY PERSONS ENGAGED IN ONE OR MORE CRAFTS OR HAZARDOUS OCCUPATIONS IN THE SAME OR SIMILAR LINES OF BUSINESS AND THE SOCIETIES OR AUXILIARIES TO SUCH ORDERS SHALL NOT BE SUBJECT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THIS CHAPTER NOR SHALL ANY RELIGIOUS ORDER BE SUBJECT TO THE PROVISIONS OF THIS CHAPTER. Read the craft exemption carefully - it turns on admitting ONLY such persons, so a general association with some steeplejacks in it is not exempt.
'Coercion' as an unfair trade practice occurs when someone:
Why: Coercion uses force or intimidation (for example, a lender requiring a borrower to buy insurance from a particular insurer) to induce an insurance transaction.
A person generally becomes eligible for Medicare at:
Why: Eligibility begins at 65, or earlier for those receiving Social Security disability for 24 months, or with ESRD/ALS.
An Iowa life insurance company holding a separate account wants to keep in it the reserves for a benefit it has guaranteed as to dollar amount and duration. A creditor of another part of the company's business wants to reach the separate account's assets. And a contract holder describes the company as trustee of the account. What does Iowa Code 508A.1 provide?
Why: Three subsections of Iowa Code 508A.1 answer the three parts of the stem, and the second and third of them sit together in a way that a candidate has to hold carefully. Subsection 3: EXCEPT WITH THE APPROVAL OF THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE AND UNDER SUCH CONDITIONS AS TO INVESTMENTS AND OTHER MATTERS AS THE COMMISSIONER MAY PRESCRIBE, WHICH SHALL RECOGNIZE THE GUARANTEED NATURE OF THE BENEFITS PROVIDED, RESERVES FOR BENEFITS GUARANTEED AS TO DOLLAR AMOUNT AND DURATION AND FUNDS GUARANTEED AS TO PRINCIPAL AMOUNT OR STATED RATE OF INTEREST SHALL NOT BE MAINTAINED IN A SEPARATE ACCOUNT. The default is a prohibition and the approval is the exception, which the answer allowing guaranteed reserves without approval reverses - and the reason is subsection 2: a separate account may be invested without regard to the ordinary investment limitations, and putting guaranteed money there would put the guarantee behind unlimited investment risk. That is also why the approval, when given, carries conditions that SHALL RECOGNIZE THE GUARANTEED NATURE OF THE BENEFITS. Subsection 5 does two things and the first is the one that catches candidates: AMOUNTS ALLOCATED TO A SEPARATE ACCOUNT IN THE EXERCISE OF THE POWER GRANTED BY THIS CHAPTER SHALL BE OWNED BY THE COMPANY, AND THE COMPANY SHALL NOT BE, NOR HOLD ITSELF OUT TO BE, A TRUSTEE WITH RESPECT TO SUCH AMOUNTS. NOT A TRUSTEE, and expressly forbidden to say it is - which is what the answer calling the amounts held in trust asserts, and its reasoning is the natural one: if the assets are insulated, surely they are held on trust? They are not, and the insulation comes from the second half of the same subsection instead: UNLESS IT IS PROVIDED TO THE CONTRARY UNDER THE APPLICABLE CONTRACTS, THAT PORTION OF THE ASSETS OF ANY SUCH SEPARATE ACCOUNT EQUAL TO THE RESERVES AND OTHER CONTRACT LIABILITIES WITH RESPECT TO SUCH ACCOUNT SHALL NOT BE CHARGEABLE WITH LIABILITIES ARISING OUT OF ANY OTHER BUSINESS THE COMPANY MAY CONDUCT. A statutory ring-fence, not a trust - and note that it protects THAT PORTION EQUAL TO THE RESERVES AND OTHER CONTRACT LIABILITIES, not the whole account, so a surplus above that figure is not insulated. The answer making the whole account chargeable removes the ring-fence entirely. Subsection 4 completes the picture: UNLESS OTHERWISE APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE, ASSETS ALLOCATED TO A SEPARATE ACCOUNT SHALL BE VALUED AT THEIR MARKET VALUE ON THE DATE OF VALUATION, OR IF THERE IS NO READILY AVAILABLE MARKET, THEN AS PROVIDED UNDER THE TERMS OF THE CONTRACT - with the portion equal to the reserve liability for guaranteed benefits valued instead in accordance with the rules otherwise applicable to the company's assets. The same ring-fence language appears in Iowa Code 508.32(3) and 508.32A(1) for the two other kinds of account a life company may hold, and 508.32(3) expressly disapplies section 508A.1, subsection 5, to a separate account established for policy proceeds held in trust.
A licensed health care practitioner certifies that Joan cannot bathe or dress without substantial help. For her tax-qualified long-term care contract to pay, the loss of ability must be expected to last at least:
Why: Under the HIPAA definition of chronically ill, the inability to perform at least two activities of daily living must be expected to last at least 90 days. That 90-day test is separate from any elimination period the policy sets.
The grace period in a typical life insurance policy is:
Why: The grace period (commonly 31 days) keeps coverage in force after a missed premium; a death during it pays the benefit minus the premium owed.
Which type of care is generally NOT covered by Medicare?
Why: Medicare generally does not pay for long-term custodial care (help with daily living); it covers hospital, physician, and hospice care.
A member insurer has been placed under an order of rehabilitation by a court of competent jurisdiction; no finding of insolvency has been made. Among the contracts it wrote are a major medical policy, a Medicare supplement policy, and a dental-only policy. The association asks how the insurer is classified and which of the three contracts is a health benefit plan for the purposes of the chapter.
Why: Two definitions in Iowa Code 508C.5 decide this. Subsection 11 defines an “impaired insurer” as a member insurer which is NOT an insolvent insurer and is placed under an order of rehabilitation or conservation by a court of competent jurisdiction; subsection 12 defines an “insolvent insurer” as one placed under an order of LIQUIDATION WITH A FINDING OF INSOLVENCY. Rehabilitation without a liquidation order is therefore impairment, and the chapter’s machinery attaches at that point rather than waiting for a liquidation. Subsection 10 defines “health benefit plan” as any hospital or medical expense policy or certificate, health maintenance organization subscriber contract or other similar health contract, and then excludes nine things: accident-only insurance, credit insurance, dental-only insurance, vision-only insurance, MEDICARE SUPPLEMENT INSURANCE, benefits for long-term care, home health care or community-based care, disability income insurance, coverage for an onsite medical clinic, and specified disease, hospital confinement indemnity or limited benefit health insurance where that coverage does not coordinate benefits and is under a separate policy. So only the major medical policy qualifies. That list is not academic: it is what sends Medicare supplement, long-term care and disability income business to the lower or separate ceilings in section 508C.3(5) rather than to the five hundred thousand dollar health benefit plan ceiling.
An Iowa investor wants to buy a policy that was issued three years ago. The insurer, asked to record the change of ownership, wants the viator to sign the insurer's own consent form, which the commissioner has never approved, and says it will get to the request when it can. What does Iowa Code 508E.11 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 508E.11 is three sentences long and each one bites on these facts. Subsection 1: EXCEPT AS PROVIDED IN SECTION 508E.12, IT IS A VIOLATION OF THIS CHAPTER FOR ANY PERSON TO ENTER INTO A VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT AT ANY TIME PRIOR TO THE APPLICATION OR ISSUANCE OF A POLICY WHICH IS THE SUBJECT OF A VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT OR WITHIN A FIVE-YEAR PERIOD COMMENCING WITH THE DATE OF ISSUANCE OF THE INSURANCE POLICY OR CERTIFICATE. Five years, not two - the two-year figure belongs to section 508E.12, subsection 2, which is a route OUT of the bar, and to the contestable-period trigger in section 508E.10, subsection 1. A three-year-old policy is inside the bar, so the transaction stands or falls on whether one of the section 508E.12 exemptions is certified. Subsection 2 answers the insurer's form: AN INSURER SHALL NOT, AS A CONDITION OF RESPONDING TO A REQUEST FOR VERIFICATION OF COVERAGE OR EFFECTING THE TRANSFER OF A POLICY PURSUANT TO A VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT, REQUIRE THAT THE VIATOR, INSURED, VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER, OR VIATICAL SETTLEMENT BROKER SIGN ANY FORM, DISCLOSURE, CONSENT, OR WAIVER FORM THAT HAS NOT BEEN EXPRESSLY APPROVED BY THE COMMISSIONER FOR USE IN CONNECTION WITH VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACTS IN THIS STATE. The prohibition is on requiring the unapproved form at all, which is what the answer letting the insurer require its own form softens into a rule about outright refusal. Subsection 3 supplies the deadline the answer setting no deadline denies: UPON RECEIPT OF A PROPERLY COMPLETED REQUEST FOR CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OR BENEFICIARY OF A POLICY, THE INSURER SHALL RESPOND IN WRITING WITHIN TWENTY DAYS, WITH WRITTEN ACKNOWLEDGMENT CONFIRMING THAT THE CHANGE HAS BEEN EFFECTED OR SPECIFYING THE REASONS WHY THE REQUESTED CHANGE CANNOT BE PROCESSED, and it adds that the insurer SHALL NOT UNREASONABLY DELAY EFFECTING A CHANGE OF OWNERSHIP OR BENEFICIARY AND SHALL NOT OTHERWISE SEEK TO INTERFERE WITH ANY VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT LAWFULLY ENTERED INTO IN THIS STATE. Keep the twenty days here distinct from the thirty days an insurer has to answer a verification of coverage request under section 508E.10, subsection 1, paragraph "d": different request, different clock.
In an 'entity' (stock redemption) buy-sell agreement funded with life insurance:
Why: In an entity plan the business owns the policies and purchases a deceased owner's share; in a cross-purchase plan the owners insure each other.
Key person disability insurance provides benefits to:
Why: Key person disability is owned by and paid to the business to cover losses and the cost of replacing an essential employee who becomes disabled.
In a cross-purchase buy-sell agreement among four business owners, the number of life insurance policies required is:
Why: Cross-purchase requires each owner to insure every other owner: n(n−1) = 4 × 3 = 12 policies; an entity plan would need only 4.
The McCarran-Ferguson Act established that the insurance business is primarily regulated by:
Why: McCarran-Ferguson (1945) affirmed that regulation of insurance is left to the states, except where federal law specifically applies.
An Iowa insurer's draft individual sickness policy with a hospital confinement indemnity benefit would impose a six-month waiting period for hernia and tonsil conditions, would exclude one named preexisting back condition by a waiver printed in full on the first page, and would exclude confinement in a federal government hospital. What does IAC 191-36.5 provide?
Why: IAC 191-36.5(1) bars probationary or waiting periods, except that a policy may specify a probationary or waiting period not to exceed six months for specified diseases or conditions and losses resulting therefrom for hernia, disorder of reproductive organs, varicose veins, adenoids, appendix, and tonsils; the permissible six months' exception shall not be applicable where such specified diseases or conditions are treated on an emergency basis, and accident policies shall not contain probationary or waiting periods. The answer giving twelve months doubles the period, and the answer applying it even to emergency treatment drops the emergency exception. Subrule 36.5(7) preserves the use of waivers to exclude, limit or reduce coverage or benefits for specifically named or described preexisting diseases, physical condition or extra hazardous activity; where waivers are required as a condition of issuance, renewal or reinstatement, signed acceptance by the insured is required unless on initial issuance the full text of the waiver is on the first page or specification page of the policy or notice of the waiver appears there. So a waiver printed in full on the first page at issue needs no signature, which the answer always requiring a signature denies, and a ban on waivers is wrong. Subrule 36.5(5): policies providing hospital confinement indemnity coverage shall not contain provisions excluding coverage because of confinement in a hospital operated by the federal government, which the answers allowing that exclusion contradict. Note also subrule 36.5(3): no policy may exclude a preexisting condition for more than 12 months after issue where the application does not seek disclosure of prior conditions and the condition is not specifically excluded by the policy.
A Medicare Supplement (Medigap) policy is designed to:
Why: Medigap fills cost-sharing gaps in Original Medicare and is sold in standardized plans.
An approved Iowa continuing education provider runs a classroom course and also sells a self-study course with an examination at the end. One classroom attendee arrives an hour late; one self-study candidate returns an examination with no affidavit attached. What do the provider's responsibilities under IAC 191 chapter 11 require in relation to instructors, records, absent students and self-study examinations?
Why: The first four subrules of IAC 191-11.10 put four duties on a provider. 11.10(1): A CE PROVIDER MUST ENSURE THAT EACH CLASSROOM COURSE IS CONDUCTED BY A QUALIFIED AND COMPETENT INSTRUCTOR. 11.10(2): A CE PROVIDER MUST OBTAIN AND MAINTAIN AN ATTENDANCE RECORD FOR EACH COURSE FOR AT LEAST FOUR YEARS FROM THE END OF THE YEAR IN WHICH THE COURSE IS OFFERED. UPON REQUEST BY THE DIVISION, A CE PROVIDER MUST SUBMIT COPIES OF ATTENDANCE RECORDS. Four years, not two - and this is a different four years from the producer's under 11.4(1)'b', which runs FOR FOUR YEARS AFTER THE END OF THE YEAR OF ATTENDANCE and applies to THE ORIGINAL CERTIFICATES OF COMPLETION. Two people, two documents, two identical periods measured from two different events. 11.10(3): A CE PROVIDER OF AN APPROVED COURSE IS RESPONSIBLE FOR BOTH THE ATTENDANCE OF THE STUDENTS AND THEIR ATTENTION. A CE PROVIDER MUST REFUSE TO AWARD CE CREDIT FOR TIME PERIODS WHEN THE STUDENT WAS ABSENT. BOTH attendance AND attention, and MUST REFUSE rather than may - so a discretion to overlook a late arrival is the opposite of the rule, and the attendance record defined in 11.2 as a sign-in at THE TIME OF ENTRANCE TO THE COURSE does not answer for the hour missed. 11.10(4): A CE PROVIDER MUST VERIFY THAT EACH EXAMINATION SUBMITTED FOR A SELF-STUDY COURSE CONTAINS AN AFFIDAVIT FOLLOWING THE NAIC CE GUIDELINES FROM THE PRODUCER THAT THE EXAMINATION WAS INDEPENDENTLY PROCTORED AND THAT THE EXAMINATION WAS COMPLETED WITHOUT ANY OUTSIDE ASSISTANCE. A CE PROVIDER MUST REFUSE TO AWARD CE CREDIT TO PRODUCERS WHO FAIL TO SUBMIT A PROPERLY COMPLETED EXAMINATION OR WHO FAIL TO CORRECTLY ANSWER AT LEAST 70 PERCENT OF THE QUESTIONS ON THE EXAMINATION. The affidavit goes to the PROVIDER, not to the division, which matches 11.3(4)'b'(1), where the producer SUBMITS AN AFFIDAVIT TO THE CE PROVIDER. There are two independent grounds for refusal here and the candidate in the stem has fallen at the first: a missing affidavit means the examination is not properly completed, whatever the score. The 70 percent is the same single threshold the producer's rule sets in 11.3(4)'b'(2), stated once from each side; it is the score required on a self-study continuing education examination.
An Iowa issuer designs a compensation schedule for producers selling its Medicare supplement policies. It proposes a first-year commission equal to three times the second-year commission, an identical commission in each renewal year, and payment of renewal commissions for three renewal years. A producer also asks whether a gift certificate awarded for hitting a sales target counts against these limits.
Why: IAC 191—37.25(2) permits a commission or other compensation for the sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate only if the first-year commission or other first-year compensation is no more than two hundred percent of the commission or other compensation paid for selling or servicing the policy or certificate in the second year or period, so a three-times schedule is outside the cap. Subrule 37.25(3) requires the compensation provided in subsequent renewal years to be the same as that provided in the second year or period, and to be provided for no fewer than five renewal years; three renewal years is short. The issuer’s level renewal commission is the one element of the schedule that complies. Subrule 37.25(1) defines compensation broadly as pecuniary or nonpecuniary remuneration of any kind relating to the sale or renewal of the policy or certificate, including but not limited to bonuses, gifts, prizes, awards and finder’s fees, which is what pulls the gift certificate in. Subrule 37.25(4) is a separate rule for replacement: where an existing Medicare supplement policy or certificate is replaced, no issuer may provide and no producer may receive compensation greater than the renewal compensation payable by the replacing issuer on renewal policies — a restriction on top of the caps in 37.25(2) and 37.25(3), not a substitute for them.
An insured with a $4,000 monthly benefit suffers a residual disability causing a 50% loss of income. The residual benefit is about:
Why: Residual benefits are proportional to income lost: 50% income loss × $4,000 = $2,000.
Money left in a typical health flexible spending account (FSA) at year-end is:
Why: FSAs are generally use-it-or-lose-it, though plans may allow a limited carryover or grace period.
An Iowa viatical settlement provider has been using a contract form it never filed with the commissioner, and a pattern of unreasonably low payments to viators has come to light. The commissioner proposes to revoke its license. The provider argues that the commissioner approved its disclosure statement form two years ago and that this ends the matter. What do Iowa Code 508E.4 and 508E.5 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 508E.4, subsection 1, lists nine grounds and the two that decide this item are in the middle of it. Paragraph "c": THE VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER DEMONSTRATES A PATTERN OF UNREASONABLE PAYMENTS TO VIATORS - price is a licensure question in this chapter, which is what the answer leaving price to the market denies. Paragraph "e": THE VIATICAL SETTLEMENT PROVIDER HAS ENTERED INTO ANY VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT FORM THAT HAS NOT BEEN APPROVED PURSUANT TO THIS CHAPTER. The rest of the list is worth reading as a whole: material misrepresentation in the application; the licensee or any officer, partner, member or key management personnel convicted of fraudulent or dishonest practices, subject to a final administrative action, or otherwise shown to be untrustworthy or incompetent; a guilty plea or plea of nolo contendere to any felony or to a misdemeanor involving fraud or moral turpitude, regardless of whether a judgment of conviction has been entered; failure to honor contractual obligations set out in a viatical settlement contract; no longer meeting the requirements for initial licensure; assigning, transferring or pledging a viaticated policy to a person outside the permitted list; and violating any provision of the chapter. Subsection 2 adds bad faith conduct with one or more viators as a ground against a broker or a life insurance producer operating as a broker. Subsection 3 is the procedural answer to the claim that no hearing is required: if the commissioner denies an application or suspends, revokes or refuses to renew, THE COMMISSIONER SHALL CONDUCT A HEARING IN ACCORDANCE WITH CHAPTER 17A. Section 508E.5 answers the provider's argument. A person shall not use a viatical settlement contract form or provide to a viator a disclosure statement form unless first filed with and approved by the commissioner, and the commissioner shall disapprove a form that fails to meet the requirements of sections 508E.8, 508E.10, 508E.14 and 508E.15, subsection 2, or is unreasonable, contrary to the interests of the public, or otherwise misleading or unfair to the viator. The section then closes: THE COMMISSIONER'S APPROVAL OF ANY OF THE MATERIALS SHALL NOT BE A DEFENSE OR OTHERWISE PRECLUDE A CIVIL ACTION FOR FRAUD. That single sentence is the whole answer to the claim that approval is conclusive - and note the approval the provider is relying on was of the disclosure statement, while the form it actually used was never filed at all.
Annuity suitability rules require a producer recommending an annuity to:
Why: Suitability standards require the recommendation be appropriate based on the consumer's financial situation, needs, and objectives.
Under the 'one-year term' (fifth) dividend option, the dividend is used to:
Why: The one-year term option buys a year of term coverage (commonly equal to the cash value), increasing the total death benefit for that year.
Four Iowa-licensed producers ask the division whether the continuing education rules apply to them. One is a nonresident who lives in a state that has its own continuing education requirement for producers. One is a resident who holds qualification in the surety and credit lines and nothing else. One is a licensed attorney. One spent most of the continuing education term on full-time active duty in the armed forces of the United States. Under IAC 191 chapter 11, which of them are outside the rules, and does any of them have to do anything to get there?
Why: Rule IAC 191-11.1(3) is a list of five, and the drafting matters as much as the list: some entries are unconditional and some carry a condition the producer must satisfy. THESE RULES DO NOT APPLY TO: A NONRESIDENT PRODUCER WHO RESIDES IN A STATE OR DISTRICT HAVING A CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) REQUIREMENT FOR INSURANCE PRODUCERS. A RESIDENT PRODUCER WHO HOLDS QUALIFICATION IN THE SURETY OR CREDIT LINES OF AUTHORITY. LICENSED ATTORNEYS WHO ARE ALSO PRODUCERS WHO SUBMIT PROOF OF COMPLETION OF CONTINUING LEGAL EDUCATION FOR THE APPROPRIATE CALENDAR YEARS DURING THE CE TERM AND OTHERWISE COMPLY WITH THE PRODUCER LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES SET FORTH IN 191-CHAPTER 10. A PRODUCER WHO SERVES FULL-TIME IN THE ARMED FORCES OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA ON ACTIVE DUTY DURING A SUBSTANTIAL PART OF THE CE TERM AND WHO SUBMITS EVIDENCE OF SUCH SERVICE. And a fifth the stem does not raise: A RESIDENT PRODUCER WHO HOLDS QUALIFICATION ONLY FOR A CROP INSURANCE LINE OF AUTHORITY AND WHO COMPLIES WITH SUBRULE 11.3(8). The attorney and the service member each have something to submit and the answer requiring nobody to submit anything deletes both submissions, which is the trap. The nonresident exclusion turns on what the STATE OF RESIDENCE requires, not on what the producer chooses, so the answer putting nonresidents inside is wrong; 11.1(1) does say the rules are adopted FOR RESIDENT AND NONRESIDENT INSURANCE PRODUCERS, but 11.1(3)'a' then takes most nonresidents back out again. The surety and credit exclusion is unconditional and the crop exclusion is not, which is worth holding side by side. Note also what the attorney entry does NOT say: it does not excuse the attorney from renewing, only from these rules - THE ATTORNEY MUST OTHERWISE COMPLY WITH THE PRODUCER LICENSE RENEWAL PROCEDURES, which live in 191-Chapter 10.
An Iowa small employer carrier wants to stop offering one of its small group products, and is separately considering leaving the Iowa small group market altogether. A small employer on its books has fallen below the carrier's minimum participation requirement, and another's trade association membership - the basis of its coverage - has lapsed. What does Iowa Code 513B.5 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 513B.5 is the small group counterpart of IAC 191-35.26 for large groups, and the two carry the same figures. Subsection 1 states the right: HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE SUBJECT TO THIS CHAPTER IS RENEWABLE WITH RESPECT TO ALL ELIGIBLE EMPLOYEES OR THEIR DEPENDENTS, AT THE OPTION OF THE SMALL EMPLOYER, EXCEPT FOR ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING REASONS. The employer chooses whether to renew; the carrier may refuse only on a listed ground. Those grounds are failure to pay or make timely payment; AN ACT OR PRACTICE CONSTITUTING FRAUD OR AN INTENTIONAL MISREPRESENTATION OF A MATERIAL FACT; NONCOMPLIANCE WITH THE CARRIER'S MINIMUM PARTICIPATION REQUIREMENTS; NONCOMPLIANCE WITH THE CARRIER'S EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION REQUIREMENTS - two separate grounds, and the employer in the stem that has fallen below the participation requirement is squarely within the third; the two discontinuance routes; cessation of association membership; and a finding by the commissioner that CONTINUATION OF THE COVERAGE IS NOT IN THE BEST INTERESTS OF THE POLICYHOLDERS OR CERTIFICATE HOLDERS, OR WOULD IMPAIR THE CARRIER'S ABILITY TO MEET ITS CONTRACTUAL OBLIGATIONS. Paragraph 'g' answers the second employer and defeats the answer saying lapsed association membership is no ground: THE MEMBERSHIP OF AN EMPLOYER IN AN ASSOCIATION, WHICH IS THE BASIS FOR THE COVERAGE WHICH IS PROVIDED THROUGH SUCH ASSOCIATION, CEASES, BUT ONLY IF THE TERMINATION OF COVERAGE UNDER THIS PARAGRAPH OCCURS UNIFORMLY WITHOUT REGARD TO ANY HEALTH STATUS-RELATED FACTOR RELATING TO ANY COVERED INDIVIDUAL. It is a ground, but a conditional one. Paragraph 'e' governs discontinuing one type of coverage and carries four conditions, of which the answer excusing any replacement offer deletes the one that matters: advance notice to the commissioner NO LESS THAN THREE DAYS PRIOR TO THE NOTICE to affected parties; notice to all affected small employers, participants and beneficiaries NO LESS THAN NINETY DAYS PRIOR TO THE NONRENEWAL; an offer TO EACH PLAN SPONSOR OF THE DISCONTINUED COVERAGE, THE OPTION TO PURCHASE ANY OTHER COVERAGE CURRENTLY OFFERED BY THE CARRIER TO OTHER EMPLOYERS IN THIS STATE; and uniform action in both discontinuing and offering, WITHOUT REGARD TO THE CLAIMS EXPERIENCE OF THE SPONSORS ... OR TO A HEALTH STATUS-RELATED FACTOR. Paragraph 'f' governs leaving the market entirely: the same three days to the commissioner, ONE HUNDRED EIGHTY DAYS to affected parties, and discontinuance of ALL health insurance coverage issued or delivered for issuance to small employers in this state. Subsection 2 supplies the price of that choice and the answer letting the carrier re-enter at any time removes it: A CARRIER THAT ELECTS NOT TO RENEW HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE UNDER SUBSECTION 1, PARAGRAPH 'F', SHALL NOT WRITE ANY NEW BUSINESS IN THE SMALL EMPLOYER MARKET IN THIS STATE FOR A PERIOD OF FIVE YEARS AFTER THE DATE OF NOTICE TO THE COMMISSIONER. Subsection 3 confines the section, for a carrier doing business in one established geographic service area, to that carrier's operations in that area. Paragraph 'i' separately allows a carrier to MODIFY a product at renewal where the modification is consistent with state law and EFFECTIVE ON A UNIFORM BASIS among coverage with that product.
Three further terms in IAC 191 chapter 16 decide what has to be produced and to whom: 'policy summary', 'sales material' and 'direct-response solicitation'. Which statement matches the rules?
Why: Rule IAC 191-16.22 defines all three. POLICY SUMMARY has TWO forms, not one - and they map exactly onto the two annual report lists in IAC 191-14.10(1): the non-universal list is CURRENT DEATH BENEFIT, ANNUAL CONTRACT PREMIUM, CURRENT CASH SURRENDER VALUE, CURRENT DIVIDEND, APPLICATION OF CURRENT DIVIDEND, AND AMOUNT OF OUTSTANDING LOAN, and the universal life list is the report period dates, the policy value at the end of the previous and current periods, THE TOTAL AMOUNTS THAT HAVE BEEN CREDITED OR DEBITED TO THE POLICY VALUE DURING THE CURRENT REPORT PERIOD, IDENTIFYING EACH BY TYPE, the current death benefit ON EACH LIFE COVERED BY THE POLICY, the net cash surrender value, and outstanding loans. Note the different qualifiers: the first is required TO THE EXTENT APPLICABLE and NEED NOT BE LIMITED TO those items, the second AT LEAST those items. SALES MATERIAL MEANS A SALES ILLUSTRATION AND ANY OTHER WRITTEN, PRINTED OR ELECTRONICALLY PRESENTED INFORMATION CREATED, COMPLETED OR PROVIDED BY THE COMPANY OR PRODUCER THAT IS USED IN THE PRESENTATION TO THE POLICY OR CONTRACT OWNER RELATED TO THE POLICY OR CONTRACT THAT IS PURCHASED. Three verbs - CREATED, COMPLETED OR PROVIDED - and two sources, THE COMPANY OR PRODUCER. The answer confining sales material to company material would take a producer's own hand-drawn comparison outside the rules; the distinction it appeals to is real but does different work, in 16.24(4) and 16.26(3), where the producer must identify PREPRINTED OR ELECTRONICALLY PRESENTED INSURER-APPROVED SALES MATERIALS USED and separately supply COPIES OF ANY INDIVIDUALIZED SALES MATERIALS. The answer confining it to written or printed information drops ELECTRONICALLY PRESENTED, which is expressly there. DIRECT-RESPONSE SOLICITATION MEANS A SOLICITATION THROUGH A SPONSORING OR ENDORSING ENTITY OR INDIVIDUALLY SOLELY THROUGH MAILS, TELEPHONE, THE INTERNET OR OTHER MASS COMMUNICATION MEDIA. The sponsoring-or-endorsing-entity limb is what the answer excluding solicitations through an entity removes; it matters because association and affinity marketing is the commonest form of direct response, and rule 16.28 imposes a distinct set of duties on insurers in that channel.
A Medicare beneficiary delayed Part D for three years without other creditable drug coverage. The result is:
Why: Going without creditable coverage adds a permanent late-enrollment surcharge to the Part D premium.
Which dividend option purchases small amounts of additional paid-up insurance?
Why: Paid-up additions use dividends to buy small single-premium amounts of permanent insurance, increasing both death benefit and cash value.
The board of directors of the association calls an assessment to meet its obligations arising from a particular insolvent member insurer. A member insurer receiving the notice asks what class of assessment this is, when it must pay, what happens if it pays late, and whether there is a ceiling on what it can be assessed in a single calendar year.
Why: Iowa Code 508C.9(2) draws the class line by purpose, not by size. Class A assessments meet administrative and legal costs and other expenses and may be called whether or not related to a particular impaired or insolvent insurer; CLASS B assessments are called to the extent necessary to carry out the association’s powers and duties under section 508C.8 with regard to a particular impaired or insolvent insurer — which is what the facts describe. Subsection 1 fixes timing and interest: an assessment is due not less than thirty days after prior written notice has been sent, and accrues interest at ten percent per annum commencing on the due date. Subsection 5“a”(1) is the ceiling, and it is per account: the total of all assessments authorised with respect to a member insurer for EACH of the four accounts shall not in any one calendar year exceed two percent of that insurer’s average annual premiums received in this state on the policies covered by the account during the three calendar years preceding the year in which the insurer became impaired or insolvent. The same three-year premium base governs the proportion each insurer bears under subsection 3“d”. If the maximum assessment plus other assets is insufficient, subsection 5“a”(3) sends the shortfall into succeeding years rather than lifting the ceiling. Two further points: subsection 3“c” requires the class B assessment for LONG-TERM CARE written by the failed insurer to be allocated fifty percent to accident and health member insurers and fifty percent to life and annuity member insurers; and subsection 4 lets the board abate or defer an assessment that would endanger a member insurer’s ability to meet its own contractual obligations, the abated amount falling on the others and being repaid later under an approved repayment plan.
An applicant pays the first premium with the application and receives a conditional receipt, but underwriting later finds the applicant was NOT insurable as applied for. The insurer:
Why: A conditional receipt provides coverage only if the applicant was insurable as applied for; if not, there is no coverage and the premium is refunded.
An Iowa insurer is working out which of its products the life insurance illustration rules reach. Its book includes variable life insurance, individual and group annuity contracts, credit life insurance, a group whole life plan with certificates of $50,000, and individual policies with initial face amounts of $8,000. It also asks from when the rules run. What does IAC 191 chapter 14 provide?
Why: Rule IAC 191-14.3 is short and exhaustive: THESE RULES APPLY TO ALL GROUP AND INDIVIDUAL LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES AND CERTIFICATES EXCEPT: VARIABLE LIFE INSURANCE; INDIVIDUAL AND GROUP ANNUITY CONTRACTS; CREDIT LIFE INSURANCE; OR LIFE INSURANCE POLICIES OR CERTIFICATES WITH INITIAL FACE AMOUNTS OF $10,000 OR LESS. GROUP AND INDIVIDUAL, which the answer confining the rules to individual policies cuts to individual only, and note that the chapter runs on CERTIFICATES as well as policies - which is why 14.4 defines POLICYOWNER as THE OWNER NAMED IN THE POLICY OR THE CERTIFICATE HOLDER IN THE CASE OF A GROUP POLICY. FOUR exclusions, and the fourth is the face-amount one the answer with no face-amount exclusion argues away. Its reasoning is a good policy argument and it is not the rule; the $10,000 figure is in rule 14.3 and nowhere else in the chapter, so it cannot be relocated to the identification requirement in 14.5(1), which carries a DATE rather than an amount. On the stem's facts the $8,000 policies fall out and the $50,000 group certificates stay in. Rule 14.14 supplies the dates and they are the oddity of the chapter: THESE RULES ARE EFFECTIVE AS OF APRIL 24, 2024, AND APPLY TO POLICIES SOLD ON OR AFTER FEBRUARY 1, 1997. A rule taking effect in 2024 that reaches back twenty-seven years is exactly what a candidate reads past, and the answers applying the rules only to policies sold on or after April 24, 2024 collapse the two dates into one. The 1997 date is not arbitrary: it is the same date that appears in 14.5(1), under which FOR POLICY FORMS FILED AFTER FEBRUARY 1, 1997, THE ILLUSTRATION IDENTIFICATION SHALL BE MADE AT THE TIME OF FILING. Rule 14.1 states the purpose the chapter serves - to PROTECT CONSUMERS AND FOSTER CONSUMER EDUCATION, to ENSURE THAT ILLUSTRATIONS DO NOT MISLEAD PURCHASERS OF LIFE INSURANCE AND TO MAKE ILLUSTRATIONS MORE UNDERSTANDABLE, with insurers to ELIMINATE THE USE OF FOOTNOTES AND CAVEATS as far as possible. Rule 14.2 records the authority: IOWA CODE SECTION 507B.4.
'Balance billing' occurs when a provider bills the patient for:
Why: Balance billing is charging the patient the gap between the billed amount and what the plan considers allowable (common with out-of-network providers).
'Unfair discrimination' in insurance means:
Why: Unfair discrimination is applying different rates or terms to insureds of the same class and equal risk; risk-based distinctions are permitted.
An applicant classified as a 'preferred' risk:
Why: Preferred risks (e.g., ideal build, nonsmoker) present lower-than-average mortality and qualify for the lowest premiums; standard and substandard pay more.
Life insurance is generally a 'valued' (not indemnity) contract because it pays:
Why: Life insurance pays the agreed face amount regardless of proven loss; medical expense insurance instead indemnifies actual costs.
A life insurer domiciled in Iowa is placed in liquidation. One policy owner lives in Iowa. A second lives in a neighbouring state which has a guaranty association of its own, and is not eligible for coverage there because the insurer was never licensed in that state at the time that state’s guaranty law specifies. The liquidator asks who the Iowa association covers.
Why: Iowa Code 508C.3(1)“b” covers persons who own, or hold certificates or are enrollees under, the policies specified in subsection 2, and who are either residents of this state or nonresidents meeting three cumulative conditions in subparagraph (2): the state of residence has an association similar to Iowa’s; the person is not eligible for coverage by that association in any other state because the insurer or health maintenance organization was not licensed there at the time that state’s guaranty law specifies; and the member insurer that issued the policy is domiciled in this state. The facts given satisfy all three. Paragraph “a” extends coverage to beneficiaries, assignees and payees of those persons regardless of where they reside — including health care providers rendering services covered under health policies — but expressly excepts nonresident certificate holders under group policies. Paragraph “e” supplies the anti-duplication principle that drives the whole scheme: a person who would otherwise be covered here but is covered under another state’s law is not covered here, and where more than one association could cover a person the chapter is construed with other states’ laws so that only one association covers. Subsection 2 fixes the instruments: direct life insurance, health insurance and annuities, supplemental contracts, certificates under group policies, and unallocated annuity contracts issued by member insurers — with health insurance including health maintenance organization subscriber contracts and certificates, long-term care insurance, and disability insurance policies.
An Iowa producer meets a prospective buyer who already holds one Medicare supplement policy and is currently enrolled in Medicare Part C. The producer proposes to sell her a second Medicare supplement policy to sit alongside the first, and to write the new policy with an effective date falling while the Part C coverage is still running.
Why: IAC 191—37.31 carries three separate commands in three short subrules. Subrule 37.31(1) requires a producer recommending the purchase or replacement of any Medicare supplement policy or certificate to make reasonable efforts to determine the appropriateness of that recommendation — a duty of inquiry, not a permission slip that cures what the other two subrules forbid. Subrule 37.31(2) prohibits any sale of a Medicare supplement policy or certificate that will provide an individual more than one such policy or certificate; the bar is on the second supplement policy itself, whoever issued the first. Subrule 37.31(3) prohibits an issuer from issuing a Medicare supplement policy or certificate to an individual enrolled in Medicare Part C unless the effective date of the new coverage is after the termination date of the individual’s Part C coverage, so the sequence matters and concurrent running is exactly what is excluded. The duplication addressed by 37.31(2) is duplication among supplement policies, and it sits alongside a different prohibition in rule 191—37.5(3), which bars a Medicare supplement policy in force in this state from containing benefits that duplicate benefits provided by Medicare insurance.
A withdrawal from a nonqualified deferred annuity is taxed:
Why: Nonqualified annuity withdrawals come out earnings-first (LIFO) and are taxed as ordinary income (plus a possible penalty before 59½).
An employee elects COBRA after termination. The employee generally must pay:
Why: COBRA lets the individual continue coverage by paying up to 102% of the full premium (the group cost plus a 2% administration charge).
An Iowa insurer is issuing an individual health policy to an applicant whose previous coverage ended forty days ago. The policy has a preexisting condition exclusion period. The applicant also wants to keep her twenty-three-year-old unmarried son, who lives in Iowa and is not a student, on the policy. And the insured of another policy has died, leaving several months of premium paid in advance. What do Iowa Code 514A.3B and 514A.3A provide?
Why: Iowa Code 514A.3B, subsections 1 and 2, and section 514A.3A. Subsection 1 is a CREDIT rule, not a prohibition: an insurer that accepts an individual for coverage SHALL WAIVE ANY TIME PERIOD APPLICABLE TO A PREEXISTING CONDITION EXCLUSION OR LIMITATION PERIOD REQUIREMENT OF THE POLICY OR CONTRACT WITH RESPECT TO PARTICULAR SERVICES IN AN INDIVIDUAL HEALTH BENEFIT PLAN FOR THE PERIOD OF TIME THE INDIVIDUAL WAS PREVIOUSLY COVERED BY QUALIFYING PREVIOUS COVERAGE ... THAT PROVIDED BENEFITS WITH RESPECT TO SUCH SERVICES, PROVIDED THAT THE COVERAGE WAS CONTINUOUS TO A DATE NOT MORE THAN SIXTY-THREE DAYS PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE DATE OF THE NEW POLICY OR CONTRACT. SIXTY-THREE days, not thirty, and the applicant's forty-day gap is comfortably inside it. Note the credit is service-specific: it runs only where the previous coverage provided benefits with respect to the same services. Subsection 2 is the child continuation rule and the answer confining it to full-time students collapses it into its student limb: an insurer whose policy provides coverage for children SHALL PERMIT CONTINUATION OF EXISTING COVERAGE OR REENROLLMENT IN PREVIOUSLY EXISTING COVERAGE for a qualifying UNMARRIED CHILD OF AN INSURED OR ENROLLEE WHO SO ELECTS, AT LEAST THROUGH THE POLICY ANNIVERSARY DATE ON OR AFTER THE DATE THE CHILD MARRIES, CEASES TO BE A RESIDENT OF THIS STATE, OR ATTAINS THE AGE OF TWENTY-FIVE YEARS OLD, WHICHEVER OCCURS FIRST, OR SO LONG AS THE UNMARRIED CHILD MAINTAINS FULL-TIME STATUS AS A STUDENT IN AN ACCREDITED INSTITUTION OF POSTSECONDARY EDUCATION. The word is OR - the student route is an ALTERNATIVE that can carry a child past twenty-five, not a condition of the basic right. A twenty-three-year-old unmarried Iowa resident qualifies whether or not he is studying. Do not confuse the twenty-five here with the NINETEEN in section 514A.2, subsection 1, paragraph 'c', which caps the specified age for children insured, ORIGINALLY OR BY SUBSEQUENT AMENDMENT, on a family policy: one is about which children a family policy may insure, the other about how long an existing child's coverage must be allowed to continue. Subsection 3 defines CREDITABLE COVERAGE for the purposes of accident and sickness policies issued in this state, and lists twelve kinds: a group health plan; health insurance coverage; Part A or Part B Medicare; Medicaid, other than coverage consisting solely of section 1928 benefits; 10 U.S.C. ch. 55; a health or medical care program provided through the Indian health service or a tribal organization; a state health benefits risk pool; a health plan under 5 U.S.C. ch. 89; a public health plan as defined under federal regulations; a health benefit plan under section 5(e) of the federal Peace Corps Act; A SHORT-TERM LIMITED DURATION POLICY; and the Hawki program. Section 514A.3A answers the death case and defeats the answer forfeiting the unearned premium: on receipt of NOTICE OF THE INSURED'S DEATH SUPPORTED BY A CERTIFIED COPY OF A VALID DEATH CERTIFICATE AND A REQUEST FOR A PRO RATA REFUND BY A PARTY ENTITLED TO CLAIM SUCH A REFUND, the insurer SHALL REFUND THE UNEARNED PREMIUM PRORATED TO THE MONTH OF THE INSURED'S DEATH; refund and termination are WITHOUT PREJUDICE TO ANY CLAIM ORIGINATING PRIOR TO THE DATE OF THE INSURED'S DEATH; and the commissioner adopts by rule THE MINIMUM AMOUNT REQUIRED FOR ISSUANCE OF A REFUND.
Eligibility for Medicaid is based primarily on:
Why: Medicaid is a means-tested, joint federal-state program for low-income individuals; eligibility varies by state.
The uniform 'claim forms' provision requires that, after receiving notice of a claim, the insurer:
Why: If the insurer does not supply claim forms within 15 days of notice, the insured may submit written proof of loss in any form.
An applicant for a large policy must justify the amount with their income and net worth. This is:
Why: Financial underwriting confirms the requested coverage is reasonable relative to the applicant's financial circumstances.
An 'other-insured' (e.g., spouse) rider on a life policy provides:
Why: An other-insured rider adds term coverage on a spouse or other family member to the base insured's policy.
Iowa Code 507B.12 gives the commissioner power to make rules under the trade practices chapter and then says something about how that power relates to the rest of the law. What does it provide?
Why: Iowa Code 507B.12 is two subsections and each carries one half of the item. Subsection 1: THE COMMISSIONER MAY, AFTER NOTICE AND HEARING, PROMULGATE REASONABLE RULES, AS ARE NECESSARY OR PROPER TO IDENTIFY SPECIFIC METHODS OF COMPETITION OR ACTS OR PRACTICES WHICH ARE PROHIBITED BY SECTION 507B.4, 507B.4A, OR 507B.5, BUT THE RULES SHALL NOT ENLARGE UPON OR EXTEND THE PROVISIONS OF SUCH SECTIONS. SUCH RULES SHALL BE SUBJECT TO REVIEW IN ACCORDANCE WITH CHAPTER 17A. Four things. The procedure is AFTER NOTICE AND HEARING, which the answer allowing rules without notice or hearing removes. The subject matter is three named sections, not the whole chapter - 507B.4, 507B.4A and 507B.5 - which that answer also widens. The limit is the important clause: THE RULES SHALL NOT ENLARGE UPON OR EXTEND THE PROVISIONS OF SUCH SECTIONS. A rule under this chapter may only IDENTIFY what those sections already prohibit; it cannot add a practice to the list. The answer letting the rules enlarge on the sections denies exactly that, and its reasoning - that a rulemaking power is there to catch what the drafter did not anticipate - is the argument the clause was written to defeat. Note that some sections of this chapter give their own separate and wider rulemaking directions, and where they do they say so: 507B.4B(3) tells the commissioner to make rules ESTABLISHING PROCEDURES AND STANDARDS for annuity suitability, 507B.4C(4) to make rules TO ADMINISTER that section, and 507B.9(2) to make rules that DEFINE the sale of duplicate Medicare supplement coverage. Subsection 2: THE POWERS VESTED IN THE COMMISSIONER BY THIS CHAPTER SHALL BE ADDITIONAL TO ANY OTHER POWERS TO ENFORCE ANY PENALTIES, FINES, OR FORFEITURES AUTHORIZED BY LAW WITH RESPECT TO THE METHODS, ACTS, AND PRACTICES DECLARED TO BE UNFAIR OR DECEPTIVE. ADDITIONAL TO, not exclusive of, which is the error of the answer calling the powers exclusive; the chapter adds to whatever else the law provides and takes nothing away.
A 'mutual' insurance company is:
Why: A mutual insurer is owned by its policyowners; dividends paid to them are treated as a nontaxable return of premium.
An Iowa insurer wants to defend a claim on an individual sickness policy by producing the application, a copy of which was never given to the policyholder. It also wants to rely on an innocent immaterial error in that application, and it points out that it acknowledged the claim notice and sent claim forms without reserving its rights. What do Iowa Code 514A.5, 514A.6 and 514A.4 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 514A.5, 514A.6 and, behind them, 514A.4. Section 514A.5, subsection 1, ties the application to the contract: THE INSURED SHALL NOT BE BOUND BY ANY STATEMENT MADE IN AN APPLICATION FOR A POLICY UNLESS A COPY OF SUCH APPLICATION IS ENDORSED ON THE POLICY WHEN ISSUED AS A PART THEREOF OR IS FURNISHED TO THE POLICYHOLDER WITHIN THIRTY DAYS AFTER THE POLICY IS ISSUED. Thirty days, not ninety - and on these facts no copy was ever given, so the insured is not bound by the statement at all and the insurer's defence fails at the first step. The subsection then adds a separate rule for reinstatement and renewal applications: on written request by the insured, beneficiary or assignee the insurer has FIFTEEN DAYS AFTER THE RECEIPT OF SUCH REQUEST to deliver or mail a copy, and IF SUCH COPY SHALL NOT BE SO DELIVERED OR MAILED, THE INSURER SHALL BE PRECLUDED FROM INTRODUCING SUCH APPLICATION AS EVIDENCE IN ANY ACTION OR PROCEEDING BASED UPON OR INVOLVING SUCH POLICY OR ITS REINSTATEMENT OR RENEWAL. Subsection 2 bars alteration of a written application by anyone but the applicant WITHOUT THE APPLICANT'S WRITTEN CONSENT, except that the insurer may make insertions FOR ADMINISTRATIVE PURPOSES ONLY, in a manner that indicates clearly that they are not to be ascribed to the applicant. Subsection 3 is the materiality rule and the answer barring recovery on any false statement reverses it: THE FALSITY OF ANY STATEMENT IN THE APPLICATION FOR ANY POLICY COVERED BY THIS CHAPTER MAY NOT BAR THE RIGHT TO RECOVERY THEREUNDER UNLESS SUCH FALSE STATEMENT MATERIALLY AFFECTED EITHER THE ACCEPTANCE OF THE RISK OR THE HAZARD ASSUMED BY THE INSURER. An innocent immaterial error does not defeat the claim. Section 514A.6 answers the waiver argument and defeats the answer finding a waiver in the claim handling, which states the ordinary insurance-law intuition the section displaces: THE ACKNOWLEDGMENT BY ANY INSURER OF THE RECEIPT OF NOTICE GIVEN UNDER ANY POLICY COVERED BY THIS CHAPTER, OR THE FURNISHING OF FORMS FOR FILING PROOFS OF LOSS, OR THE ACCEPTANCE OF SUCH PROOFS, OR THE INVESTIGATION OF ANY CLAIM THEREUNDER SHALL NOT OPERATE AS A WAIVER OF ANY OF THE RIGHTS OF THE INSURER IN DEFENSE OF ANY CLAIM ARISING UNDER SUCH POLICY. The insurer may process a claim without being taken to have admitted it. Section 514A.4 sits underneath all of this in two parts: a policy provision NOT subject to section 514A.3 shall not make the policy or any portion of it LESS FAVORABLE IN ANY RESPECT to the insured or the beneficiary than the provisions that are subject to the chapter; and a policy issued in violation of the chapter SHALL BE HELD VALID BUT SHALL BE CONSTRUED AS PROVIDED IN THIS CHAPTER, with the rights, duties and obligations of insurer, insured and beneficiary governed by the chapter wherever a policy provision conflicts with it. Two more sections complete the group. Section 514A.7 deals with an age limit reached inside a paid-for period: the coverage CONTINUES IN FORCE, subject to any right of cancellation, UNTIL THE END OF THE PERIOD FOR WHICH PREMIUM HAS BEEN ACCEPTED, and where the age was misstated so that coverage would never have attached or would already have ceased, the insurer's liability is LIMITED TO THE REFUND, UPON REQUEST, OF ALL PREMIUMS PAID FOR THE PERIOD NOT COVERED. Section 514A.8 puts four things outside the chapter altogether: workers' compensation or liability insurance with or without supplementary expense coverage; reinsurance; ANY BLANKET OR GROUP POLICY; and life, endowment or annuity contracts whose only accident and sickness provisions give additional benefits for death, dismemberment or loss of sight by accident, or safeguard the contract against lapse or give a special surrender value, benefit or annuity on total and permanent disability.
An Iowa agent is selling an individual sickness policy to a client who will drop her existing accident and sickness cover to pay for it. The same insurer separately sells accident only policies and single premium nonrenewable policies by mail. What does IAC 191-36.8 require, and of which sales?
Why: IAC 191-36.8 is the accident and sickness counterpart of the life replacement machinery in IAC 191 chapter 16, and it is much shorter because it does only two things: it makes the insurer ASK, and it makes the insurer WARN. Subrule 36.8(1): APPLICATION FORMS SHALL INCLUDE A QUESTION DESIGNED TO ELICIT INFORMATION AS TO WHETHER THE INSURANCE TO BE ISSUED IS INTENDED TO REPLACE ANY OTHER ACCIDENT AND SICKNESS INSURANCE PRESENTLY IN FORCE, and A SUPPLEMENTARY APPLICATION OR OTHER FORM TO BE SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT CONTAINING SUCH A QUESTION MAY BE USED. Subrule 36.8(2) splits the duty by distribution channel, and the split is what the answer requiring a direct response insurer to give notice before issue collapses. An insurer OTHER THAN A DIRECT RESPONSE INSURER, or its agent, must furnish the notice PRIOR TO ISSUANCE OR DELIVERY OF THE POLICY, with ONE COPY ... RETAINED BY THE APPLICANT AND AN ADDITIONAL COPY SIGNED BY THE APPLICANT ... RETAINED BY THE INSURER. A DIRECT RESPONSE INSURER SHALL DELIVER TO THE APPLICANT UPON ISSUANCE OF THE POLICY the different notice in subrule 36.8(4) - later, because there is no agent at the kitchen table to hand anything over, and the missing warning is made up for by the sentence that appears only in the direct response form: YOUR NEW POLICY PROVIDES 30 DAYS WITHIN WHICH YOU MAY DECIDE WITHOUT COST WHETHER YOU DESIRE TO KEEP THE POLICY. Thirty days there, against the ten days of the ordinary free-look notice required by rule 191-36.7(1)'g' - the answer giving ten days confuses the two. Subrule 36.8(2) closes with the exemption the answer requiring notice for every policy removes: IN NO EVENT, HOWEVER, WILL SUCH A NOTICE BE REQUIRED IN THE SOLICITATION OF THE FOLLOWING TYPES OF POLICIES: ACCIDENT ONLY AND SINGLE PREMIUM NONRENEWABLE POLICIES. Both of the insurer's mail-order lines in the stem are therefore outside the rule. The prescribed notice itself, in subrule 36.8(3), makes three points and they are the substance of what a replacing producer must get across: HEALTH CONDITIONS WHICH YOU MAY PRESENTLY HAVE (PREEXISTING CONDITIONS) MAY NOT BE IMMEDIATELY OR FULLY COVERED UNDER THE NEW POLICY. THIS COULD RESULT IN DENIAL OR DELAY OF A CLAIM FOR BENEFITS UNDER THE NEW POLICY, WHEREAS A SIMILAR CLAIM MIGHT HAVE BEEN PAYABLE UNDER YOUR PRESENT POLICY; that the applicant MAY WISH TO SECURE THE ADVICE OF YOUR PRESENT INSURER OR ITS AGENT regarding the proposed replacement; and that FAILURE TO INCLUDE ALL MATERIAL MEDICAL INFORMATION ON AN APPLICATION MAY PROVIDE A BASIS FOR THE COMPANY TO DENY ANY FUTURE CLAIMS AND TO REFUND YOUR PREMIUM AS THOUGH YOUR POLICY HAD NEVER BEEN IN FORCE, with the instruction to reread the application before signing. The direct response version carries the same first two points and, where the application is attached to the policy, tells the applicant to check it and WRITE TO THE COMPANY WITHIN 30 DAYS if anything is incorrect, incomplete or omitted.
An Iowa viatical settlement broker's file clerk notices that a medical record and an insurance application in the same file cannot both be true. The broker asks whether it must report this, whether it can be sued for reporting it, and what its own antifraud programme must contain. Its contracts carry no fraud warning at all. What does Iowa Code 508E.15 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 508E.15 is the chapter's antifraud machinery and it turns on four distinctions. Subsection 3 splits the reporting duty in two: paragraph "a" says ANY PERSON ENGAGED IN THE BUSINESS OF VIATICAL SETTLEMENTS HAVING KNOWLEDGE OR A REASONABLE SUSPICION THAT A FRAUDULENT VIATICAL SETTLEMENT ACT IS BEING, WILL BE, OR HAS BEEN COMMITTED SHALL PROVIDE TO THE COMMISSIONER SUCH INFORMATION AS REQUIRED BY AND IN A MANNER PRESCRIBED BY RULES, while paragraph "b" says ANY OTHER PERSON having knowledge or a REASONABLE BELIEF MAY do so. Shall for the industry, may for everyone else - which is what the answer making reporting permissive flattens; and note the threshold words differ too, suspicion inside the business and belief outside it. Subsection 4 is the immunity and it is conditional, not absolute: no civil liability shall be imposed on and no cause of action shall arise from a person who, ACTING REASONABLY AND IN GOOD FAITH, furnishes information to the commissioner and staff, to federal, state or local law enforcement or regulatory officials, to a person involved in the prevention and detection of fraudulent viatical settlement acts, to the national association of insurance commissioners, the financial industry regulatory authority, inc., the North American securities administrators association or another regulatory body, or to a life insurer that issued the policy. Paragraph "b" then says the immunity DOES NOT APPLY TO A STATEMENT MADE IN BAD FAITH OR WITH ACTUAL MALICE, and requires a plaintiff to plead bad faith or malice specifically - which is what the answer making the immunity absolute removes. Paragraph "c" adds an award of attorney fees and costs to a prevailing informant where the action was not substantially justified, except to a person furnishing information about the person's own fraudulent act. Subsection 7 is the antifraud programme: initiatives REASONABLY CALCULATED TO DETECT, PROSECUTE, AND PREVENT FRAUDULENT VIATICAL SETTLEMENT ACTS, which SHALL INCLUDE a fraud investigator - who may be the provider or broker itself, an employee, or an independent contractor - and an antifraud plan submitted to the commissioner describing the procedures for detecting and investigating possible fraudulent acts AND PROCEDURES FOR RESOLVING MATERIAL INCONSISTENCIES BETWEEN MEDICAL RECORDS AND INSURANCE APPLICATIONS, the procedures for reporting to the commissioner, the plan for antifraud education and training of underwriters and other personnel, and a description or chart of the organizational arrangement of the antifraud personnel. That first item is exactly the clerk's discovery. The plan itself is privileged and confidential notwithstanding chapter 22, is not a public record, and is not subject to discovery or subpoena. Subsection 2 requires every contract and application to carry the statement that ANY PERSON WHO KNOWINGLY PRESENTS FALSE INFORMATION IN AN APPLICATION FOR INSURANCE OR VIATICAL SETTLEMENT CONTRACT IS GUILTY OF A CRIME AND MAY BE SUBJECT TO FINES AND CONFINEMENT IN PRISON, or a substantially similar statement - and then closes the door the answer barring prosecution without the warning opens: THE LACK OF A STATEMENT AS REQUIRED IN PARAGRAPH "A" DOES NOT CONSTITUTE A DEFENSE IN ANY PROSECUTION FOR A FRAUDULENT VIATICAL SETTLEMENT ACT.
An Iowa health insurer routinely tells claimants that their policies exclude a category of treatment that the policies in fact cover, and routinely leaves letters and telephone messages about pending claims unanswered for long periods. Which of the unfair claim settlement practices listed in Iowa Code 507B.4 does that conduct fall within?
Why: Paragraph 'j' of Iowa Code 507B.4(3) lists fifteen unfair claim settlement practices and the first two are the ones in point. Subparagraph (1): MISREPRESENTING PERTINENT FACTS OR INSURANCE POLICY PROVISIONS RELATING TO COVERAGES OF ISSUE. Subparagraph (2): FAILING TO ACKNOWLEDGE AND ACT REASONABLY PROMPTLY UPON COMMUNICATIONS WITH RESPECT TO CLAIMS ARISING UNDER INSURANCE POLICIES. Two verbs in the second - ACKNOWLEDGE and ACT - so an insurer that sends a holding acknowledgement and then does nothing has satisfied half of it and breached the other half. The argument that a coverage misrepresentation belongs only to the misrepresentation paragraph is the interesting one and it is wrong: subparagraph (1) is expressly about misrepresenting policy provisions RELATING TO COVERAGES OF ISSUE, which is a claims-handling context, and the misrepresentation paragraph at the head of the section runs on material MADE, ISSUED OR CIRCULATED - an estimate, illustration, circular, statement, sales presentation, omission or comparison. The two paragraphs overlap rather than divide, and a false coverage position stated to a claimant is squarely inside subparagraph (1). The answer pointing to reasonable investigation standards swaps subparagraph (2) for subparagraph (3), which is about FAILING TO ADOPT AND IMPLEMENT REASONABLE STANDARDS FOR THE PROMPT INVESTIGATION OF CLAIMS - a systems failure rather than a failure to answer the post, and a different practice. The answer saying neither is engaged adds a requirement of coercive purpose that appears nowhere in either subparagraph; several of the fifteen do turn on pressing a claimant towards a smaller settlement, but these two do not. One requirement does govern all fifteen, and the stem is drafted to satisfy it rather than to test it: paragraph 'j' opens by defining the practice as COMMITTING OR PERFORMING WITH SUCH FREQUENCY AS TO INDICATE A GENERAL BUSINESS PRACTICE any of the listed acts, which is why the stem says the insurer does both things ROUTINELY.
Iowa Code 507B.1 states the purpose of the insurance trade practices chapter. What is that purpose?
Why: Iowa Code 507B.1 says the purpose IS TO REGULATE TRADE PRACTICES IN THE BUSINESS OF INSURANCE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE INTENT OF CONGRESS AS EXPRESSED IN THE ACT OF CONGRESS OF MARCH 9, 1945, PUB. L. NO. 79-15, 59 STAT. 33, CODIFIED AT 15 U.S.C. §1011 - 1015, BY DEFINING, OR PROVIDING FOR THE DETERMINATION OF, ALL SUCH PRACTICES IN THIS STATE WHICH CONSTITUTE UNFAIR METHODS OF COMPETITION OR UNFAIR OR DECEPTIVE ACTS OR PRACTICES AND BY PROHIBITING THE TRADE PRACTICES SO DEFINED OR DETERMINED. The chapter is the state's own regulation of these practices, which is why the answer handing them to federal antitrust enforcement is wrong. Note the phrase OR PROVIDING FOR THE DETERMINATION OF, which is why the chapter is not merely a list: 507B.3 also prohibits a practice DETERMINED PURSUANT TO SECTION 507B.6 to be unfair. The section says nothing about rates or about a private cause of action.
A terminally ill insured accesses the accelerated death benefit for $40,000 on a $100,000 policy. At death, the beneficiary receives:
Why: The accelerated benefit advances part of the face amount; the death benefit is reduced accordingly: $100,000 − $40,000 = $60,000.
A life insurance company's certificate of authority in Iowa has been revoked. Its producer, not knowing this, collects a premium from a prospect for a new policy. What does Iowa Code 511.17 provide about the arrangement and about what the payer can recover, and from whom?
Why: Iowa Code 511.17 is one sentence and it is one of the sharpest remedies in the Iowa insurance code: ALL CONTRACTS, PROMISES, AND AGREEMENTS MADE BY ANY PERSON TO OR WITH ANY SUCH COMPANY OR ASSOCIATION CONCERNING ANY PREMIUM, POLICY, OR CERTIFICATE OF NEW BUSINESS, AFTER THE REVOCATION OF ITS CERTIFICATES OR DENIAL OF AUTHORITY TO DO BUSINESS, SHALL BE NULL AND VOID, AND ALL PAYMENTS OF PREMIUM OR ASSESSMENTS ADVANCED OR MADE BY ANY PERSON ON ACCOUNT OF ANY SUCH POLICY, CERTIFICATE OF NEW BUSINESS, OR UPON ANY ARRANGEMENT THEREFOR, MAY BE RECOVERED FROM SUCH COMPANY OR ASSOCIATION, OR ITS AGENT TO WHOM PAYMENT WAS ADVANCED OR MADE, OR FROM BOTH OF THEM, AND IN ADDITION THERETO PLAINTIFF MAY RECOVER AN EQUAL AMOUNT AS LIQUIDATED DAMAGES, TOGETHER WITH A REASONABLE FEE TO PLAINTIFF'S ATTORNEY FOR SERVICES IN THE CASE. Four things. The contracts are NULL AND VOID, not voidable at the payer's option, which matters because a void contract cannot be affirmed and no policy comes into existence at all. Recovery lies against THE COMPANY, OR ITS AGENT, OR BOTH: the producer who took the money is personally exposed, which the answer excusing the agent argues away on grounds that are humane and are not the statute. There is no knowledge requirement anywhere in the section, on either side - the answer requiring the payer's knowledge adds one for the payer, and the answer excusing the agent assumes one for the agent; the section operates on the bare fact of revocation or denial. And the remedy is DOUBLE plus costs of suit: the premium back, AN EQUAL AMOUNT AS LIQUIDATED DAMAGES, and A REASONABLE FEE TO PLAINTIFF'S ATTORNEY. Note the trigger words NEW BUSINESS, which appear twice: the section is aimed at a company that keeps writing after its authority has gone, not at the servicing of business already on the books. That is the same distinction chapter 508 draws when it says, in 508.14(2) and again in 508.15, that a defaulting company's RIGHT TO TRANSACT FURTHER NEW BUSINESS IN THIS STATE SHALL IMMEDIATELY CEASE.
An insurer files an individual long-term care insurance policy form for delivery in Iowa. The form is not issued to any group of the kind the chapter describes. It defines a preexisting condition as one for which medical advice or treatment was recommended or received within twelve months preceding the effective date of coverage, and it excludes coverage for any loss or confinement resulting from such a condition where the loss begins within twelve months after the effective date.
Why: Iowa Code 514G.105(2) governs both halves. Paragraph “a” forbids a policy or certificate other than one issued to a group described in section 514G.103(9) from using a definition of “preexisting condition” more restrictive than the definition in section 514G.103(15), which is a condition for which medical advice or treatment was recommended by, or received from, a provider of health care services within six months preceding the effective date of coverage. Paragraph “b” forbids the same policies from excluding coverage for a loss or confinement resulting from a preexisting condition unless the loss or confinement begins within six months following the effective date of coverage. So both twelve-month figures fail, and both are capped rather than one. Paragraph “c” supplies the only relief: the commissioner may extend the limitation periods in paragraphs “a” and “b” as to specific age group categories in specific policy forms upon finding the extension in the best interest of the public. Paragraph “d” preserves ordinary underwriting — an insurer may still use an application designed to elicit a complete health history and underwrite on the answers — but bars the use of waivers or riders of any kind to exclude, limit or reduce coverage for specifically named or described preexisting diseases or physical conditions beyond the waiting period in paragraph “b”. That is why a limitation is not forbidden outright; it is bounded.
To be 'fully insured' for Social Security retirement benefits, a worker generally needs:
Why: Fully insured status requires 40 quarters of coverage (roughly 10 years of work in covered employment).
The board of directors of the association comes to believe in good faith, from information reaching it, that a particular Iowa member insurer may be an impaired or insolvent insurer. It asks what it may do with that belief, whether it can compel an examination, and who bears the cost if one is made.
Why: Iowa Code 508C.12(4) requires the board, upon majority vote, to notify the commissioner of any information indicating that a member insurer may be an impaired or insolvent insurer. Subsection 5 then lets the board, again upon majority vote, REQUEST that the commissioner order an examination of a member insurer which the board in good faith believes may be impaired or insolvent. The examination may be conducted as a national association of insurance commissioners examination or by persons the commissioner designates; “the cost of the examination shall be paid by the association”, which is the reverse of the ordinary rule for a financial examination and is the point the answers putting the cost on the member insurer get wrong; the report is treated as other examination reports are; and it “shall not be released to the board of directors prior to its release to the public”, though the commissioner must notify the board when the examination is completed. The request itself is kept on file by the commissioner but is not a public record pursuant to chapter 22 until the examination report is released to the public. The section’s other half runs the other way, from the commissioner to the board: subsection 1 requires the commissioner to notify other states’ commissioners within thirty days when a member insurer’s licence is revoked or suspended or a formal restricting order is made, to report such actions and any equivalent report from another state to the board with all significant details, to report reasonable cause believed from an examination that an insurer may be impaired or insolvent, and to furnish the board the national association of insurance commissioners’ insurance regulatory information system ratios, which the board must keep confidential until made public by the commissioner or other lawful authority. Subsections 3 and 6 let the board, on majority vote, make reports and recommendations on solvency matters and on the detection and prevention of insolvencies.
A disability policy has a 14-day elimination period and a $200 weekly benefit. If the insured is disabled for 10 weeks, the total paid is:
Why: The first 2 weeks (14-day elimination) pay nothing; 8 weeks × $200 = $1,600.
An employee gets married, a HIPAA 'special enrollment' event. The employee may:
Why: HIPAA special enrollment lets employees enroll after qualifying life events (marriage, birth, loss of other coverage) without waiting for open enrollment.
The distinction between accident and sickness coverage is that an 'accident' involves:
Why: Accident coverage applies to sudden, unforeseen injuries; sickness coverage applies to illness or disease, and many policies cover both.
A business partner takes a life policy on a co-owner to fund a buy-sell agreement. Insurable interest:
Why: Business partners have an insurable interest in each other for buy-sell purposes; insurable interest need only exist at policy inception.
A person turns 65 and enrolls in Part B. During the six months that follow, they apply for a Medigap policy. The insurer must:
Why: During the six-month Medigap open enrollment period (age 65 + enrolled in Part B), coverage is guaranteed issue regardless of health.
Omar went 14 months after his Initial Enrollment Period without Part D or other creditable drug coverage. His Part D late enrollment penalty equals what percentage of the national base beneficiary premium?
Why: Part D charges 1% of the national base beneficiary premium for each full month without creditable coverage, so 14 months gives 14%. Candidates who pick 10% are applying the Part B rule, which counts whole 12-month periods.
A stock life insurance company wants to be authorised to transact business in Iowa. It also plans to increase its capital stock next year, and it expects to undergo a change of control the year after. What does Iowa Code 508.5 require of it at each of those points?
Why: Iowa Code 508.5(1) contains three sentences and each answers one part of the stem. A STOCK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY SHALL NOT BE AUTHORIZED TO TRANSACT BUSINESS UNDER THIS CHAPTER WITH LESS THAN FIVE MILLION DOLLARS OF CAPITAL AND SURPLUS PAID IN CASH OR INVESTED AS PROVIDED BY LAW. Five million, not one, and note the phrase CAPITAL AND SURPLUS together, which is a single combined test rather than five million of each. A STOCK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY SHALL NOT INCREASE ITS CAPITAL STOCK UNLESS THE AMOUNT OF THE INCREASE IS FULLY PAID IN CASH: cash only, which forecloses the capitalisation of surplus that the answer allowing capitalisation of surplus permits. A STOCK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY AUTHORIZED TO DO BUSINESS IN IOWA THAT UNDERGOES A CHANGE OF CONTROL AS DEFINED UNDER CHAPTER 521A SHALL MAINTAIN THE MINIMUM CAPITAL AND SURPLUS REQUIREMENTS MANDATED BY THIS SECTION - MAINTAIN, which is the ordinary continuing duty, and re-applying as though a new applicant is an invention, however sensible it sounds. Subsection 2 is the tie-breaker: NOTWITHSTANDING SUBSECTION 1, A STOCK LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY, OR ANY OTHER LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY AUTHORIZED TO TRANSACT BUSINESS UNDER THIS CHAPTER, SHALL COMPLY WITH THE MINIMUM CAPITAL AND SURPLUS REQUIREMENTS OF THIS CHAPTER OR CHAPTER 521E, WHICHEVER IS GREATER. WHICHEVER IS GREATER, so the higher of the two governs - the answer making chapter 508 govern reverses it by making the more specific chapter win. Chapters 521A and 521E are named here. Do not confuse the five million dollars in this section with the five million dollars in 508.9(1): that one is a SECURITY FUND deposited with the commissioner by a MUTUAL company for the protection of policyholders, and it is a different requirement on a different kind of company.
An Iowa life insurer proposes to run its in-force business against a commercial database of reported deaths rather than against the United States social security administration's own file, and asks what will count as a hit. What do the definitions in Iowa Code 507B.4C say about the file it must use and about what amounts to a match?
Why: Two definitions in Iowa Code 507B.4C(2) do the technical work of the section. Paragraph 'd': 'DEATH MASTER FILE' MEANS THE UNITED STATES SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION'S DEATH MASTER FILE OR ANY OTHER DATABASE OR SERVICE THAT IS AT LEAST AS COMPREHENSIVE AS THE UNITED STATES SOCIAL SECURITY ADMINISTRATION'S DEATH MASTER FILE FOR DETERMINING THAT A PERSON HAS DIED. The definition is deliberately open: it names one source and then admits any other that meets a COMPARATIVE standard, so the question about a commercial database is answered by whether it is AT LEAST AS COMPREHENSIVE, not by whether it is the federal file. The answer confining the file to the federal one closes the definition, and its reasoning - uniformity across insurers - is a good policy argument that the drafter did not adopt. Paragraph 'e': 'DEATH MASTER FILE MATCH' MEANS A SEARCH OF THE DEATH MASTER FILE THAT RESULTS IN A MATCH OF AN AUTHORIZED PERSON'S NAME AND SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER OR AN AUTHORIZED PERSON'S NAME AND DATE OF BIRTH. Two pairs, joined by OR: name plus social security number, OR name plus date of birth. Either pair is enough, and requiring all three would defeat the section for every record where one identifier is missing - which is precisely the case 507B.4C(3)'c' addresses when it requires procedures to account for INCOMPLETE SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBERS. One answer matches on the BENEFICIARY instead of the AUTHORIZED PERSON, and that is the single most important distinction in the section: an authorized person is a POLICY OWNER, INSURED, ANNUITY OWNER, ANNUITANT, OR ACCOUNT HOLDER under 507B.4C(2)'c', that is, the person whose death makes money payable; the beneficiary is who the insurer must then locate. This explanation does not say what the social security administration's file contains or how it is compiled: it is a federal record, and the only thing 507B.4C tells us about it is that it is the benchmark against which any substitute is measured.
An Explanation of Benefits (EOB) sent to an insured is:
Why: An EOB is not a bill; it itemizes the charge, the plan's allowed amount, what the plan paid, and the patient's remaining responsibility.
A business has an insurable interest in a key employee because:
Why: A business has insurable interest in employees whose death would cause it economic loss, supporting key person and buy-sell coverage.
A self-funded employer buys aggregate stop-loss insurance. It pays once total claims for the year exceed a set amount, protecting the employer from:
Why: Aggregate stop-loss caps the employer's exposure to total claims exceeding an attachment point; specific stop-loss covers individual large claims.
Under the capitation method of provider payment used by many HMOs, a provider receives:
Why: Capitation pays the provider a set amount per member per month (PMPM) regardless of how much care that member uses.
Backdating a life insurance policy is sometimes done to:
Why: Backdating dates the policy to an earlier date so the insured qualifies at a younger age (and lower premium); states typically limit it to about six months.
An Iowa small employer with a poor claims history applies to a small employer carrier for coverage. The carrier would rather not take it. One of its employees was treated for a condition four months before her enrollment date; another is a late enrollee; a third had eighteen months of continuous coverage that ended fifty days ago. What does Iowa Code 513B.10 provide?
Why: Iowa Code 513B.10 is the guaranteed issue section and the answer letting the carrier decline an employer on claims history denies its central sentence: A CARRIER THAT OFFERS HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE IN THE SMALL GROUP MARKET SHALL ACCEPT EVERY SMALL EMPLOYER THAT APPLIES FOR HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE AND SHALL ACCEPT FOR ENROLLMENT UNDER SUCH COVERAGE EVERY ELIGIBLE INDIVIDUAL WHO APPLIES FOR ENROLLMENT DURING THE PERIOD IN WHICH THE INDIVIDUAL FIRST BECOMES ELIGIBLE ... AND SHALL NOT PLACE ANY RESTRICTION WHICH IS INCONSISTENT WITH ELIGIBILITY RULES ESTABLISHED UNDER THIS CHAPTER. A poor claims history is not a ground for refusal; it is a rating question, and section 513B.4 caps how far it can move the price. Paragraph 'f' preserves the carrier's ability to set EMPLOYER CONTRIBUTION RULES OR GROUP PARTICIPATION RULES - which is why noncompliance with those rules is a nonrenewal ground under section 513B.5. Three narrow escapes follow. A NETWORK PLAN carrier may limit applicants to employers with eligible individuals who LIVE, WORK, OR RESIDE IN THE SERVICE AREA, or deny coverage within the service area on demonstrating to the applicable state authority that it WILL NOT HAVE THE CAPACITY TO DELIVER SERVICES ADEQUATELY to additional groups because of its obligations to existing contract holders, applied UNIFORMLY TO ALL EMPLOYERS without regard to claims experience or health status. Any carrier may deny coverage on demonstrating to the commissioner that it DOES NOT HAVE THE FINANCIAL RESERVES NECESSARY TO UNDERWRITE ADDITIONAL COVERAGE, again applied uniformly. Both escapes carry the same price, and the answer letting the carrier resume at once removes it: on denying for lack of capacity the carrier SHALL NOT OFFER COVERAGE IN THE SMALL GROUP MARKET WITHIN SUCH SERVICE AREA FOR A PERIOD OF ONE HUNDRED EIGHTY DAYS, and on denying for lack of reserves it shall not offer coverage in the small group market in this state FOR ONE HUNDRED EIGHTY DAYS ... OR UNTIL THE CARRIER HAS DEMONSTRATED ... SUFFICIENT FINANCIAL RESERVES, WHICHEVER IS LATER. Subsection 2 requires the carrier to issue to an eligible small employer that applies and AGREES TO MAKE THE REQUIRED PREMIUM PAYMENTS AND SATISFY THE OTHER REASONABLE PROVISIONS, and adds that a carrier IS NOT REQUIRED TO ISSUE ... TO A SELF-EMPLOYED INDIVIDUAL WHO IS COVERED BY, OR IS ELIGIBLE FOR COVERAGE UNDER, HEALTH INSURANCE COVERAGE OFFERED BY AN EMPLOYER. Subsection 3 is the preexisting condition code, and it is the same code IAC 191-35.26, subrule 4, applies to large groups: the look-back is SIX MONTHS ENDING ON THE ENROLLMENT DATE, with GENETIC INFORMATION NOT TREATED AS A CONDITION IN THE ABSENCE OF A DIAGNOSIS; the exclusion extends NOT MORE THAN TWELVE MONTHS, OR EIGHTEEN MONTHS IN THE CASE OF A LATE ENROLLEE; and the period is REDUCED BY THE AGGREGATE OF THE PERIODS OF CREDITABLE COVERAGE as of the enrollment date, with a waiver required where the creditable coverage WAS CONTINUOUS TO A DATE NOT MORE THAN SIXTY-THREE DAYS PRIOR TO THE EFFECTIVE DATE. The answer with a twelve-month look-back doubles it and both exclusion periods. Work the stem: the employee treated four months before enrollment is inside the six-month look-back and may be excluded for up to twelve months; the late enrollee for up to eighteen; and the employee with eighteen months of coverage ending fifty days ago has enough credit to wipe out either. Paragraph 'b' bars any exclusion for a child adopted or placed for adoption before eighteen who is covered under creditable coverage as of the last day of the THIRTY-DAY period beginning on the adoption or placement, for an individual covered as of the last day of the THIRTY-DAY period beginning with the date of birth, and RELATING TO PREGNANCY.
An 'open enrollment' period in health insurance is a time when individuals can:
Why: During open enrollment, eligible individuals may enroll or change plans without health underwriting; a special enrollment period follows qualifying life events.
A Medicare Part A benefit period begins when a patient is admitted and ends:
Why: A benefit period starts at admission and ends after the patient has been out of a hospital/SNF for 60 consecutive days; a new period (and deductible) can then begin.
Joint life (first-to-die) insurance pays the death benefit:
Why: Joint (first-to-die) life pays at the first death of the covered insureds; survivorship (second-to-die) pays at the second death.
An Iowa member insurer fails to pay a guaranty association assessment when it falls due. Separately, the same insurer wishes to challenge a final action of the association’s board taken three weeks ago. It asks what the commissioner may do about the unpaid assessment and how the challenge is brought.
Why: Iowa Code 508C.11(2) gives the commissioner a choice of sanctions against a member insurer which fails to pay an assessment when due OR fails to comply with the plan of operation: after notice and hearing, suspension or revocation of the certificate of authority to transact business in this state; or, as an alternative, an administrative penalty on a member insurer which fails to pay an assessment when due. That penalty is bounded at both ends — not more than five percent of the unpaid assessment per month, and not less than one hundred dollars per month — so it has a floor as well as a ceiling, and nonpayment reaches both sanctions rather than only the penalty. Subsection 3 fixes the appeal: a final action of the board of directors or of the association may be appealed to the commissioner if taken within sixty days of the MEMBER INSURER’S RECEIPT OF NOTICE of the action, not from the date of the action itself; and a final action or order of the commissioner is then subject to judicial review pursuant to chapter 17A in a court of competent jurisdiction. Subsection 1 sets out what the commissioner SHALL do: on request of the board, provide a statement of premiums for each member insurer; and, when an impairment is declared and quantified, serve a demand on the impaired insurer to make the impairment good within a reasonable time, notice to the insurer being notice to its shareholders, with the insurer’s failure to comply not excusing the association from performing its own duties. A separate sixty-day period governs a different dispute: under 508C.9(9) an insurer protesting an assessment must pay it in full when due with a written statement of the grounds, and the association then has sixty days from that payment to notify the protesting insurer of its determination.
An applicant for an Iowa certificate of authority as a health maintenance organization has satisfied the commissioner that the persons responsible for its affairs are competent and trustworthy, that its proposed plan of operation meets the requirements of section 514B.4, and that it is fiscally sound. Its proposed contracts would impose a deductible and a coinsurance percentage on certain services.
Why: Iowa Code 514B.5(1)“c” requires, as one of the six conditions for issuance, that the organization provide or arrange for basic health care services on a prepaid basis, “except that the health maintenance organization may impose deductible and coinsurance charges subject to approval by the commissioner”, and gives the commissioner authority to promulgate rules establishing reasonable maximum deductible and coinsurance charges. So cost sharing is neither forbidden nor free-standing; it is permitted on approval, and the statute draws no line between a fixed deductible and a percentage coinsurance. The other conditions in 514B.5(1) are competent and trustworthy management (paragraph “a”), a plan of operation meeting section 514B.4 (paragraph “b”), fiscal soundness (paragraph “d”), enrollee participation in matters of policy and operation under section 514B.7 (paragraph “e”), and a method of operation not contrary to the public interest (paragraph “f”). The surety bond or deposit required by section 514B.16 is one of the things the commissioner may weigh in judging fiscal soundness under paragraph “d”(5), not something a certificate applicant trades away for permission to charge a deductible.
An immediate annuity is characterized by income payments that begin:
Why: A single-premium immediate annuity (SPIA) starts payments within one payment period — usually within 12 months — of the lump-sum purchase.
Naming a qualified charity as the owner and beneficiary of a life insurance policy may allow the donor to:
Why: Donating ownership of a policy to a charity can produce an income-tax deduction; the donor gives up control of the policy.
A key feature of convertible term insurance is that it can be changed to a permanent policy:
Why: Convertible term can be converted to permanent coverage without evidence of insurability.
An enrollee in an Iowa prepaid individual health maintenance organization plan falls behind on the charges due under the plan. The organization prepares a cancellation notice and asks what the statute requires of the notice, and whether the enrollee retains any means of putting the coverage back in force once the notice has gone out.
Why: Iowa Code 514B.17(1) allows cancellation of an enrollee in a prepaid individual plan for failure to pay the charges permitted under section 514B.10, or for other reasons stated in the commissioner’s rules, so nonpayment is a permitted ground and material misstatement is not the only one. The same subsection makes notice ineffective unless it is delivered in a manner prescribed by the commissioner, at least thirty days before the effective date of cancellation, and accompanied by a statement of reason. It then gives the enrollee a revival right that runs “at any time before cancellation of the policy for nonpayment”: on payment of the full amount due, including court costs if any, or on collection of the judgment, coverage revives and is in full force and effect. The right is bounded by the cancellation itself, not by a separate thirty-day clock. Two neighbouring provisions round this out. 514B.17(2) sends the group case elsewhere: for a prepaid group plan, the effect of cancellation and the duty to give notice and bear liability for benefits are the same as under section 509B.5(2), which requires the employer or group policyholder to give written notice at least ten days before termination or substantial modification and makes it solely liable for benefits until that notice is given. And 514B.17A treats rescission separately: an organization may rescind a membership for a material false statement or misrepresentation in the application, by written notice sent by certified mail stating the reason, but not more than two years after the date of the enrollee’s enrollment.
Under Iowa Code 522B.16A, what records must an Iowa producer keep, for how long, and on what terms may the commissioner see them?
Why: Iowa Code 522B.16A(1) imposes A CONTINUING DUTY AND OBLIGATION TO KEEP, AT THE INSURANCE PRODUCER'S PLACE OF BUSINESS, USUAL AND CUSTOMARY RECORDS PERTAINING TO TRANSACTIONS UNDERTAKEN BY THE INSURANCE PRODUCER. Those records must be KEPT AVAILABLE AND OPEN FOR INSPECTION BY THE COMMISSIONER OR THE COMMISSIONER'S REPRESENTATIVE AT ANY TIME DURING REGULAR BUSINESS HOURS - so the access is broad but it is bounded by the working day, and it is bounded again by the proviso that the commissioner IS NOT ENTITLED TO INSPECT ANY RECORDS PREPARED IN ANTICIPATION OF LITIGATION OR THAT ARE SUBJECT TO ANY PRIVILEGE RECOGNIZED IN CHAPTER 622. The retention period is a floor: SUCH RECORDS SHALL BE MAINTAINED FOR A MINIMUM OF THREE YEARS FOLLOWING THE COMPLETION OF AN INSURANCE TRANSACTION, measured from the transaction and not from the life of the licence. By 522B.16A(2), a producer WHO WILLFULLY FAILS TO COMPLY WITH THIS SECTION COMMITS A VIOLATION OF THIS CHAPTER AND IS SUBJECT TO SANCTIONS UNDER SECTION 522B.11.