A selection of free questions with answers and explanations. Use the interactive modules above for timed, scored drills.
Show more sample questions with answers & explanations
Theft of property is covered automatically under which Causes of Loss form?
- None of the forms
- Broad only
- Special form ✓
- Basic only
Why: Theft is not a named peril under Basic or Broad, but the open-perils Special form covers theft (subject to special limits) since it is not excluded.
What penalty does 8 V.S.A. § 3368(c) carry?
- An administrative penalty of not more than $5,000 for each violation, the subsection setting a ceiling but leaving the Commissioner free to impose a nominal penalty where the violation was inadvertent.
- A fine of not more than $10,000 for each violation, recoverable by the Attorney General in a civil action, together with an order requiring the insurer to return every premium it has collected in this State during the period in which it was transacting business without a certificate of authority.
- Revocation of the insurer's eligibility to apply for a certificate of authority for three years, in addition to an administrative penalty in whatever amount the Commissioner finds proportionate to the business written.
- An administrative penalty of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 for each violation of subsection (a). ✓
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3368(c). The floor matters: the penalty has a MINIMUM of $500 as well as a maximum of $5,000 for each violation.
Which of the following is a residual market mechanism rather than a risk-financing alternative?
- Captive insurer
- Self-insurance
- Joint underwriting association ✓
- Risk retention group
Why: A joint underwriting association is a residual market providing coverage otherwise unavailable, whereas captives, self-insurance, and RRGs are alternative risk-financing techniques.
Coverage E in the Dwelling Policy provides which of the following?
- Additional living expense for the owner-occupant ✓
- Identity theft restoration expenses, up to $25,000 per occurrence
- Medical payments to injured guests
- Personal liability for bodily injury
Why: Coverage E — Additional Living Expense pays the increased cost of living elsewhere while the insured's own residence is being repaired after a covered loss.
What does Vermont's valuation provision, 8 V.S.A. § 3961, allow?
- The insured to demand that the insurer pay the full face amount of the policy on a total loss of a building in this State, whatever the actual value of the building at the time the loss occurred.
- The insurer and the insured to agree a value for the building at the time of the loss, the section providing for an appraisal by two disinterested appraisers and an umpire where they cannot agree, and making the award of any two of the three binding on both parties for the purpose of the settlement.
- The Commissioner to fix the value of a building where a coinsurance clause is attached and the parties disagree, the Commissioner's valuation being conclusive for the life of the policy and reviewable only for fraud or manifest error.
- Where a fire insurer writes on a Vermont building with a coinsurance or similar percentage-of-value clause, the insured may ask for a valuation; one agreed in writing fixes the company's liability for the life of the policy. ✓
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3961. THE REQUEST IS THE INSURED'S and the valuation MUST BE AGREED IN WRITING; it then binds for THE LIFE OF THE POLICY.
When does 8 V.S.A. § 3881 NOT apply?
- Where the policy has been in force for less than sixty days, where the insured has made a material misrepresentation, and where the risk has been substantially increased since the policy was written.
- Where the insurer has cancelled rather than nonrenewed the policy, where the insured has already placed the coverage elsewhere, and where the policy is one of a class the Commissioner has exempted by order from the nonrenewal notice requirement on the application of the insurer which writes it.
- Where chapter 113, subchapter 2 is applicable and controlling; where the insurer has manifested its willingness to renew; in case of nonpayment of premium; and where the insured fails to pay an advance premium. ✓
- Where the policy is a commercial risk policy governed by chapter 128, where the insured is not a resident of this State, and where the property insured is located outside this State at the time the notice would otherwise be due.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3881. The automobile subchapter, chapter 113, subchapter 2, takes precedence where it applies, so automobile nonrenewal is governed there rather than by this section.
A scenario: lightning strikes and starts a fire destroying the kitchen. Which forms would cover this loss to the dwelling?
- Only DP-3 and HO-3, because open-peril dwelling forms are the only ones that include fire and lightning
- Only liability forms, since fire damage is settled as a third-party claim
- Only HO-4, which is the sole form written on the dwelling itself
- All standard dwelling and homeowners forms, since fire and lightning are basic perils ✓
Why: Fire and lightning are core covered perils in every standard dwelling and homeowners form, so the kitchen fire loss would be covered under all of them.
A civil wrong, other than breach of contract, for which the law provides a remedy is called a:
- Tort ✓
- Statute
- Crime
- Covenant
Why: A tort is a civil wrong (other than breach of contract) resulting in injury for which the courts provide a remedy.
Which loss would be covered under HO-3 on the dwelling but NOT on personal property, due to the difference in covered perils?
- A fire loss originating in the home's attached garage
- An accidental, non-named-peril physical loss to the structure ✓
- A lightning strike that damages the roof
- A windstorm loss to the siding and shingles
Why: HO-3 covers the dwelling open-peril, so an accidental loss not on the named-perils list is covered for the structure but not for Coverage C personal property, which is named-peril only.
A PAP insured and the insurer disagree on the amount of a Part D loss, and appraisal is invoked. How are the costs of the appraisal handled?
- Each pays its own appraiser, and umpire costs are shared equally ✓
- The insurer pays all appraisal costs, since it controls the settlement
- The party whose figure is further from the award pays every cost
- The insured pays all costs, which are then deducted from the claim
Why: Each side selects and pays a competent, impartial appraiser, and the two appraisers choose an umpire whose expenses are borne equally. Agreeing to appraisal does not waive any of the insurer's other rights under the policy.
What must the Vermont Commissioner do on refusing a license under 8 V.S.A. § 4800(3)(E)?
- Notify the applicant in writing with the grounds, and retain the whole of the fees tendered, the fees being consideration for the Department's work on the application rather than for the license which was not issued at the end of it.
- Notify the applicant alone. The appointing insurer learns of the refusal when the appointment is not confirmed, the Department treating the reasons for a denial as confidential to the applicant who was refused.
- Refuse the license and promptly notify the applicant and the appointing insurer in writing of the denial, stating the grounds; and refund the license fee tendered with the application, all other fees being nonrefundable. ✓
- Hold a hearing before refusing, notify the applicant of the decision afterwards, and refund every fee tendered with the application including the examination fee, since the applicant has received nothing for any of them.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 4800(3)(E)(i) and (ii). Notice to the applicant AND THE APPOINTING INSURER, with grounds; the LICENSE fee comes back and nothing else does.
Vocational rehabilitation benefits under workers' compensation are intended to:
- Reimburse the employer for the cost of recruiting and training a replacement worker
- Pay for all of the medical treatment the injured worker receives during the recovery period
- Permanently replace the worker's lost wages once statutory indemnity benefits are exhausted
- Help an injured worker retrain or be re-educated to return to gainful employment ✓
Why: Vocational rehabilitation provides retraining, education, or job-placement assistance so an injured worker can return to suitable employment.
How do the powers in 8 V.S.A. § 3661 sit alongside other penalties, under subsection (b)?
- They replace every other penalty provision of this title as to the conduct they reach, the subsection making this section the exclusive source of administrative penalties in insurance matters in this State.
- They are in addition to any other penalty, the subsection expressly permitting the Commissioner to impose a penalty under this section and a penalty under any other section of the title for the same act, on the footing that the two protect different interests and that a single act may breach more than one duty.
- They are available only where no other penalty is provided, the subsection making this section a residual power which may not be used at all where the title elsewhere addresses the conduct in question, whether administratively or by fine.
- They are in addition to any other powers to enforce penalties, fines or forfeitures authorized by law as to violations of insurance law - except that the Commissioner shall not impose a penalty under (a)(3) if another administrative penalty authorized by law may be imposed for the same violation. ✓
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3661(b). The bar is ON DOUBLE ADMINISTRATIVE PENALTIES FOR THE SAME VIOLATION, not on other kinds of enforcement.
An Extended Reporting Period (tail coverage) on a claims-made policy:
- Removes the retroactive date from the policy so that injuries from any earlier year become covered claims
- Extends the time within which claims may be reported for injuries that occurred during the policy period ✓
- Increases the each-occurrence limit throughout the reporting window without any additional premium charge
- Extends the period during which the injury itself must occur, adding a further year of covered exposure time
Why: A tail/ERP extends only the reporting window for claims arising from covered occurrences; it does not extend the period during which injury must take place.
What general filing rules does Regulation I-2010-03, section 5, set?
- Each filing must be complete when submitted, the Department having no power to seek more information once a filing is made, and a deemed approved filing is final and may not afterwards be disapproved.
- Each filing must be accurate, consistent and complete with all required documents, and the Commissioner may request additional information. Licensees are responsible for compliance. Approved and deemed approved filings may later be disapproved, and a disapproved filing may not be used, sold or offered for sale. ✓
- Each filing must be certified by an actuary as complying with Vermont law, the licensee being entitled to rely on that certification, and an approved filing may be disapproved afterwards only where the Commissioner finds that the certification was false or that the facts on which it rested have materially changed since it was given.
- Each filing must be accurate and complete, and responsibility for compliance rests with the filer rather than the licensee where the two are different persons.
Why: Regulation I-2010-03, sections 5(A) to (D). DEEMED APPROVAL IS NOT IMMUNITY - a deemed approved filing is as disapprovable as an affirmatively approved one.
A passenger in the named insured's car receives $3,000 under Part B for medical bills from an accident the named insured caused, then makes a Part A liability claim against the named insured. Under the PAP limit of liability provisions:
- The passenger may recover the $3,000 again under Part A
- Part A liability is barred once Part B has paid anything
- The passenger must choose one part and refund the other
- The same $3,000 of expenses cannot be paid twice ✓
Why: The PAP says no one is entitled to duplicate payments for the same elements of loss across Parts A, B and C. The passenger can still pursue Part A for damages beyond the medical bills already paid, such as pain and suffering.
Which figures belong to Vermont's automobile insurance sections?
- 30 days the notice of cancellation, 4224(a); 10 days where the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, 4224(a); 90 days the age below which 4223 does not reach a policy that is not a renewal, 4223(b); 90 days before a renewal's effective date within which a licence suspension still supports cancellation, 4223(a)(3); two years to sue the company after the loss is made certain, 4203(2); five years and 60 months the experience periods, 4671(3).
- 45 days the notice of cancellation, 4224(a); 15 days where the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, 4224(a); 30 days the age below which 4223 does not reach a policy that is not a renewal, 4223(b); 90 days before a renewal's effective date within which a licence suspension still supports cancellation, 4223(a)(3); two years to sue the company, 4203(2); five years the experience period at application and at renewal alike, 4671(3).
- 45 days the notice of cancellation, 4224(a); 15 days where the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, 4224(a); 60 days the age below which 4223 does not reach a policy that is not a renewal, 4223(b); 180 days before a renewal's effective date within which a licence suspension still supports cancellation, 4223(a)(3); one year to sue the company after the loss is made certain, 4203(2); three years and 39 months the experience periods, 4671(3). ✓
- 60 days the notice of cancellation, 4224(a); 20 days where the cancellation is for nonpayment of premium, 4224(a); 60 days the age below which 4223 does not reach a policy, 4223(b); 180 days the renewal lookback, 4223(a)(3); one year to sue the company, 4203(2); three years the experience period at application and at renewal alike, 4671(3).
Why: 8 V.S.A. §§ 4224(a), 4223(b), 4223(a)(3), 4203(2) and 4671(3). The automobile nonrenewal notice period is a separate figure: 45 days under 4225.
An insured and insurer agree a loss is covered but disagree by $30,000 on its value. One party demands appraisal. Under a typical appraisal condition, how is the amount set?
- Each picks an appraiser, the two pick an umpire, and any two agreeing bind ✓
- The insurer's adjuster sets it, and the insured may appeal to the commissioner
- A court-appointed mediator hears both sides and issues a binding award
- Each picks an appraiser, and the insurer's appraiser decides if they disagree
Why: Each side selects its own appraiser, those two select an umpire, and a written agreement by any two of the three fixes the amount. Neither party's appraiser has a casting vote.
A producer's fiduciary duty to handle premiums means that the producer must:
- Lend premium funds to clients who are short at renewal
- Keep client premium funds separate from personal funds and remit them properly ✓
- Invest premium funds in the stock market and keep the earnings
- Use collected premiums to cover agency office rent until the insurer bills
Why: As a fiduciary, a producer must safeguard premium funds, keep them separate from personal funds, and forward them to the proper parties.
A driver with 25/50/15 limits causes an accident injuring three people for $20,000 each ($60,000 total). How much does BI liability pay?
- $25,000 (the per-person bodily injury limit)
- $60,000 (the combined single limit for the policy)
- $50,000 (limited by the per-accident BI maximum) ✓
- $15,000 (the minimum financial-responsibility limit)
Why: Each person's $20,000 is under the $25,000 per-person limit, but the total $60,000 exceeds the $50,000 per-accident maximum, so BI pays $50,000.
The Utility Services endorsement (Direct Damage / Time Element) covers:
- Theft of utility meters and metering equipment owned by the power company but located on the insured's premises
- The insured's legal liability to neighboring businesses for a utility outage that its own excavation work caused
- Replacement of underground water and sewer pipes on the insured's property when they fail from age or corrosion
- Loss resulting from interruption of utility service from off-premises power, water, or communication property ✓
Why: Utility Services coverage pays for direct damage and/or business income loss resulting from failure of off-premises utility service (power, water, communications) caused by a covered peril.
Builders Risk coverage is designed to insure:
- Loss of rents only
- A completed and occupied office tower
- A structure during the course of construction ✓
- Tools owned by a contractor at home
Why: Builders Risk insures buildings or structures while under construction, including materials and supplies intended to become part of the structure.
A peril is best described as:
- A condition that increases the chance of loss
- The reduction in value of property
- The legal obligation to pay for a loss
- The cause of a possible loss, such as fire or theft ✓
Why: A peril is the direct cause of a loss, such as fire, windstorm, or theft. A hazard increases the likelihood of a peril causing loss.
A producer who exceeds the actual authority granted by the insurer but acts within the authority the public reasonably believes the producer has may still bind the insurer because of:
- Express authority
- Subrogation
- Apparent authority ✓
- The law of large numbers
Why: Apparent authority can bind the insurer when a third party reasonably relies on the appearance of authority the insurer permitted to exist.
Under the PAP, the maximum the insurer pays for a covered physical damage loss is generally:
- The original purchase price shown on the bill of sale, with no reduction for depreciation or deductible
- A flat amount scheduled in the Declarations for each auto, paid in full whatever the vehicle is worth at the time of loss
- The lesser of the actual cash value or the amount to repair/replace, minus deductible ✓
- Replacement cost for a new vehicle of like make and model, with no deductible
Why: Part D limits payment to the lesser of the ACV of the stolen/damaged property or the cost to repair or replace it, less the deductible.
Functional replacement cost valuation pays to replace damaged property with:
- Less costly but functionally equivalent materials ✓
- Identical materials only, matched to the original in every respect
- The market value of the property immediately before the loss occurred
- Property of greater value than that which was damaged or destroyed
Why: Functional replacement cost permits using modern, less expensive materials that serve the same function as obsolete originals.
A civilian working for a U.S. defense contractor on a military base overseas is injured. Which act most likely provides workers' compensation coverage?
- The Jones Act
- FECA
- FELA
- The Defense Base Act ✓
Why: The Defense Base Act extends LHWCA-style workers' compensation benefits to civilian employees of U.S. government contractors working on overseas military bases and similar locations.
Damages awarded to punish a wrongdoer for malicious or grossly negligent conduct are called:
- General damages
- Compensatory damages
- Punitive damages ✓
- Special damages
Why: Punitive (exemplary) damages are intended to punish and deter egregious conduct, not to compensate the victim's actual loss.
When an employer is held responsible for the negligent acts of an employee committed within the scope of employment, this is:
- Contributory negligence
- Vicarious liability ✓
- Absolute liability
- Strict liability
Why: Vicarious liability holds one party (e.g., an employer) responsible for the actions of another (e.g., an employee acting within the scope of employment).
The premium basis for workers' compensation insurance is generally expressed as a rate applied to:
- Square footage of the workplace
- Gross sales revenue
- Each employee per year
- Each $100 of payroll ✓
Why: WC premium is calculated using rates per $100 of payroll for each job classification, then adjusted by other factors.
PAP Part B — Medical Payments covers:
- Lost wages and the cost of household services the named insured cannot perform while recovering from the accident
- Medical expenses of the other driver only, and only after that driver's own liability insurer has denied the claim
- Repair costs for damage to the covered auto, plus any medical bills the insured cannot recover from the at-fault driver
- Reasonable medical and funeral expenses for the insured and occupants of the covered auto, regardless of fault ✓
Why: Medical Payments covers reasonable and necessary medical and funeral expenses for an insured injured in an auto accident, paid without regard to fault.
Identity theft / identity fraud expense coverage on a Homeowners policy generally provides:
- Liability protection for the insured against the debts the thief ran up in their name
- Reimbursement only for physical property such as a wallet, cards and documents taken in the theft
- Expenses to restore the insured's identity and credit after fraud ✓
- Earthquake protection for the dwelling
Why: The identity theft endorsement reimburses expenses (such as legal fees, lost wages, and notary costs) incurred to restore the insured's identity and credit standing.
When is a licensee excused from the annual privacy notice, under Regulation IH-2001-01, section 6(D)?
- When it has fewer than five hundred Vermont customers, or when it has made no disclosure of any kind in the preceding twelve months, the exception being aimed at small licensees and dormant books of business.
- It discloses only under sections 14, 15 and 16; has not changed its policies since the last notice; posts the current notice continuously on a page whose only content is the notice and revocation instructions, without login; and keeps it available on request. ✓
- When it posts its privacy notice on its website, the regulation treating publication as equivalent to delivery in every case and requiring only that the address of the page be printed on the renewal documents sent to each customer so that they know where to find the current version of it.
- When the customer has agreed in writing to receive no further notices, the licensee retaining the agreement and reinstating the annual notice if the customer later withdraws it.
Why: Regulation IH-2001-01, section 6(D)(1)(a) to (d). ALL FOUR CONDITIONS MUST HOLD. If the licensee later changes its policies so that it no longer qualifies, it must deliver a new privacy notice AT LEAST 60 DAYS BEFORE THE EFFECTIVE DATE of the change, and that notice is treated as AN INITIAL NOTICE.
The maximum amount an insurer will pay for any one accident, regardless of the number of claimants, is the:
- Per-person limit
- Aggregate limit
- Split limit
- Per-accident limit ✓
Why: A per-accident limit is the most the insurer pays for all damages from one accident combined.
The CGL pollution exclusion generally bars coverage for:
- Bodily injury and property damage arising from the discharge, dispersal, or release of pollutants ✓
- Slander and libel spoken in the insured's advertising, which only a separate media liability policy will answer
- Theft of an automobile from the insured's parking lot, an exposure that belongs on a commercial crime form
- Every fire loss at the insured's own premises, no matter whether the fire was hostile or friendly in origin
Why: The pollution exclusion removes coverage for injury/damage from the release of pollutants, subject to limited exceptions.
To be eligible for a standard Personal Auto Policy, a private passenger auto generally must be:
- Owned by a corporation that furnishes it to an employee as a company car for regular personal and family use
- Rated at more than 10,000 pounds gross vehicle weight and titled in the name of a business rather than an individual
- Owned by an individual or spouses (or co-owned individuals) and not used for business delivery ✓
- Used primarily as a taxi or livery vehicle carrying passengers for a fare in a metropolitan area
Why: PAP eligibility generally requires the vehicle be owned by an individual or by a husband and wife (or resident individuals) and used for personal, not commercial livery, purposes.
An insurer is asked to write a single high-value art museum that exceeds its usual limits, and it negotiates reinsurance for that one risk only. This is:
- Treaty reinsurance
- Retrocession
- Catastrophe reinsurance
- Facultative reinsurance ✓
Why: Facultative reinsurance is arranged risk by risk, with the reinsurer free to accept or decline each one. A treaty covers a whole class of business automatically.
A coal miner who develops pneumoconiosis (black lung disease) from workplace dust exposure may receive benefits under:
- The Defense Base Act, which covers respiratory illness in workers at government-contracted sites
- The Jones Act, for dust below decks
- The Black Lung Benefits Act (Federal Mine Safety) ✓
- FELA, on proof of employer negligence
Why: The Black Lung Benefits Act provides compensation to coal miners who are totally disabled by pneumoconiosis (black lung) arising from mine employment.
The 'mysterious disappearance' of property is typically covered under which?
- DP-1 basic named-peril coverage, once the theft endorsement is attached to the policy
- HO open-peril personal property scheduling (e.g., personal articles floater) ✓
- Coverage F medical payments, which reimburses the value of property that cannot be located
- Coverage D, loss of use, limited to 20% of the Coverage A limit
Why: Open-peril scheduled coverage (personal articles floater) can cover mysterious disappearance, which named-peril forms typically do not.
The doctrine of reasonable expectations holds that coverage should be interpreted according to:
- What a reasonable insured would expect the coverage to provide ✓
- The strict technical wording most favorable to the insurer
- The producer's commission schedule
- The insurer's loss ratio
Why: Under reasonable expectations, ambiguous policy terms are interpreted to honor the coverage a reasonable insured would expect, especially given contracts of adhesion.
A large corporation sets aside its own funds in a formal program to pay for its own anticipated losses rather than buying insurance. This is:
- Coinsurance
- Reinsurance
- Reciprocal insurance
- Self-insurance ✓
Why: Self-insurance is a formal retention program in which an entity sets aside funds to pay its own losses instead of transferring the risk.
What do Regulation I-1979-02, sections 8.B.2(d) and (e), provide?
- That reconditioning costs may be deducted where the insurer's appraiser has estimated them, and that a vehicle not listed in the guide be valued at the price the claimant paid for it less straight-line depreciation.
- That reconditioning and tune up costs shall not be deducted unless justified and detailed by actual inspection by a licensed adjuster or appraiser; and that an unlisted vehicle be valued reasonably and verifiably. ✓
- That no deduction of any kind be made from the base average, the regulation treating the average of the two sources as the settlement figure and allowing adjustment only upwards for special equipment, and that a vehicle not listed in the guide be valued by an independent appraiser appointed by agreement between the parties.
- That deductions for condition be limited to twenty percent of the base average, and that a vehicle not listed in the guide be valued on the average of two dealer quotations obtained within the local market by the insurer.
Why: Regulation I-1979-02, sections 8.B.2(d) and (e). A DEDUCTION NEEDS AN ACTUAL INSPECTION BY A LICENSED ADJUSTER OR APPRAISER, justified AND detailed.
When the wording of an endorsement conflicts with the wording of the policy form it is attached to, which generally controls?
- The policy form, because it was issued first
- The declarations page, because it lists the limits
- The endorsement, because it modifies the form ✓
- The narrower of the two, because it favors the insurer
Why: An endorsement exists to change the underlying form, so where the two conflict the endorsement prevails.
A building valued at $1,000,000 carries an 80% coinsurance clause. The insured carries $600,000 of coverage and suffers a $200,000 loss (before deductible). What does coinsurance pay?
- $200,000
- $120,000
- $160,000
- $150,000 ✓
Why: Required = 80% of $1,000,000 = $800,000. Penalty factor = $600,000/$800,000 = 0.75. Payment = 0.75 x $200,000 = $150,000.
An umbrella liability policy:
- Covers only physical damage to the insured's own dwelling and detached structures, written on a replacement cost basis
- Is another name for a difference in conditions policy, filling property gaps such as flood rather than adding liability limits
- Replaces all underlying liability coverage, so the insured may drop the primary auto and homeowners liability once the umbrella and its retention are in place
- Provides excess limits over underlying policies and may cover some claims the underlying policies do not (subject to a self-insured retention) ✓
Why: An umbrella sits above primary liability policies, providing excess limits and broader coverage, with the insured paying a self-insured retention for claims not covered underneath.
Several businesses pool their funds to collectively cover one another's losses without buying commercial insurance. This best illustrates risk:
- Transfer to an insurer
- Reduction
- Avoidance
- Sharing ✓
Why: Risk sharing or pooling spreads the cost of losses among a group of similarly exposed parties.
Which marine coverage would insure a bank's exposure for valuable customer securities documents lost in a fire on premises?
- Ocean marine freight coverage on the shipowner's earnings
- Ocean marine cargo insurance on goods in transit
- Hull and machinery coverage
- Valuable Papers and Records floater ✓
Why: The Valuable Papers and Records inland marine floater covers the cost to reconstruct or replace important documents and records destroyed by a covered peril.
A policy designated as 'excess' over other coverage will:
- Never pay anything once any other collectible insurance exists
- Share each loss pro rata with the primary from the first dollar
- Pay first and then seek reimbursement
- Pay only after the primary policy's limits are exhausted ✓
Why: Excess coverage applies only after the underlying (primary) insurance limits have been used up.
A trucking company hauling another company's goods is liable for cargo damaged in a collision it caused. Which coverage responds to the carrier's liability?
- Accounts receivable coverage for sums the shipper cannot collect
- Builders risk coverage on a structure under construction
- Motor truck cargo (carrier's) legal liability ✓
- Hull coverage, which insures the vessel carrying the goods and the carrier's cargo liability
Why: Motor truck cargo legal liability (a transportation inland marine form) covers a carrier's legal liability for damage to cargo it transports.
The CGL Medical Expense (Coverage C) limit typically applies:
- Only to the named insured and resident family
- Per occurrence to everyone hurt, not per person
- Per person and is subject to the each occurrence limit ✓
- As a separate aggregate outside Coverage A
Why: The Medical Expense Limit applies per person and the total is subject to the Each Occurrence Limit.
A technology consultant gives faulty advice causing a client a large financial loss (no bodily injury or property damage). The proper coverage is:
- A liquor liability endorsement
- Technology/Professional E&O ✓
- CGL Coverage A for property damage
- A $10,000 bid bond
Why: Pure financial loss from negligent professional advice is covered by professional E&O, not the CGL which requires BI/PD (or a covered offense).
Glass breakage to a covered building under broad and special homeowners forms is generally:
- Covered only under DP-1, which adds breakage of glass as an extended coverage peril on all dwelling forms
- Part of Section ii liability, since broken glass creates a hazard to visitors on the premises
- Excluded entirely unless a separate glass floater is purchased for the storm doors and windows
- Covered, though restricted if the dwelling has been vacant beyond the allowed period ✓
Why: Breakage of glass is a covered additional coverage/peril under broad and special forms, but coverage may be suspended when the dwelling has been vacant beyond the stated period.
What must an insured do when the company is subrogated under 8 V.S.A. § 4203(4)?
- Execute all papers required and cooperate with the company to secure to it those rights, the company being subrogated to all rights of the insured as respects the loss or expense, to the amount of its payment. ✓
- Assign to the company in writing whatever cause of action the insured has against the party responsible for the loss, and take no step in any proceeding against that party without the company's written consent.
- Bring the action against the responsible party in the insured's own name for the company's benefit, account to the company for whatever is recovered up to the amount of the payment it has made, and pay the costs of the action out of any balance remaining after the company has been reimbursed in full.
- Refrain from settling with the responsible party, and repay the company any amount recovered from that party within thirty days of receiving it, whether or not the recovery exceeds the company's payment.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 4203(4). Subrogation is CAPPED AT THE AMOUNT OF THE PAYMENT, and the insured's duty is to PAPERS AND COOPERATION.
Under the PAP, intentional bodily injury or property damage caused by an insured is:
- Covered under Part B only
- Covered as a supplementary payment
- Excluded from liability coverage ✓
- Covered under Part A
Why: Part A excludes injury or damage caused intentionally by or at the direction of an insured.
The Miscellaneous Type Vehicle endorsement to the PAP can extend coverage to:
- Privately owned aircraft and gliders
- A commercial dump truck operated by the insured's contracting business
- Motorcycles, motor homes, golf carts, or all-terrain vehicles ✓
- Inboard motorboats longer than 40 feet used for personal recreation
Why: The Miscellaneous Type Vehicle endorsement provides PAP coverage for vehicles such as motorcycles, motor homes, dune buggies, golf carts, and ATVs.
What does 8 V.S.A. § 3661(a)(2) allow, and what fine follows?
- The Commissioner may refer the violation to the State's Attorney for the county in which it occurred, who must bring a prosecution, the offender being liable to a fine of not more than $5,000 on conviction.
- The Commissioner may report each violation, with any information he or she has about it, to the Attorney General, who shall prosecute if he or she deems it advisable. On such a prosecution the offender shall be fined not more than $2,000. ✓
- The Commissioner may bring a civil action in the name of the State in the Washington Superior Court and recover a penalty of not more than $2,000 for each violation, together with the costs of the investigation, the Attorney General appearing for the Department in the action if the Commissioner requests it.
- The Commissioner may report the violation to the Attorney General, who must then prosecute it, the offender being liable to a fine of not more than $2,000 for a first violation and not more than $10,000 for any later one.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3661(a)(2). THE DISCRETION IS THE ATTORNEY GENERAL'S - IF HE OR SHE DEEMS IT ADVISABLE - and this is a FINE ON A PROSECUTION, not an administrative penalty.
A manufacturer wants higher liability limits but identical terms to its CGL across all of its primary policies. The most efficient solution is:
- Dropping the aggregate
- A fidelity bond
- A follow-form excess policy ✓
- A self-insured retention
Why: A follow-form excess policy adds limits while matching the underlying terms, ideal when only more capacity is needed.
An insured's flood loss is denied under all three Causes of Loss forms because:
- Flood is excluded in Basic, Broad, and Special forms alike ✓
- The deductible exceeded the amount of the flood damage claimed
- The coinsurance requirement was not satisfied
- Flood appears as a named peril only in the Basic form
Why: Flood is excluded under all standard commercial property causes of loss forms; separate flood coverage (e.g., NFIP or a difference-in-conditions form) is needed.
What is a NONAFFILIATED THIRD PARTY, and what is PERSONALLY IDENTIFIABLE FINANCIAL INFORMATION?
- A nonaffiliated third party is any company outside the licensee's holding company system, and personally identifiable financial information is any information bearing the consumer's name, address or policy number.
- A nonaffiliated third party is any person to whom the licensee owes no duty of confidence, including a reinsurer and a service provider acting under contract, and personally identifiable financial information is information about the consumer's income, assets or credit standing however the licensee came by it in the course of its business.
- A nonaffiliated third party is any person not licensed under Title 8, so that one licensee is never a nonaffiliated third party as to another, and personally identifiable financial information is confined to what the consumer writes on the application form.
- A nonaffiliated third party is any person except an affiliate or a jointly employed person - though the other employing company is one. Personally identifiable financial information is what the consumer provides to obtain a product, what results from a transaction, or what the licensee otherwise obtains. ✓
Why: Regulation IH-2001-01, sections 4(R) and 4(W). THE JOINT EMPLOYMENT LIMB IS THE TRAP: the person is not a nonaffiliated third party, but the company that jointly employs them is.
A dwelling with a $400,000 replacement cost is insured for $240,000. The 80% requirement is $320,000. A partial loss of $40,000 (ignoring deductible) would be settled at what amount under the coinsurance formula?
- $32,000
- $24,000
- $40,000
- $30,000 ✓
Why: Apply (carried $240,000 / required $320,000) x $40,000 = 0.75 x $40,000 = $30,000, the most the policy pays before deductible.
When may a Vermont nonresident be licensed without the written examination?
- Whenever the applicant holds a like license in the home state, the examination requirement applying to residents alone, since a nonresident has already satisfied another regulator of competence to hold the license applied for.
- Never. Every applicant for a Vermont license must personally take and pass the written examination, the reciprocal provisions of the chapter going to fees and to service of process rather than to the testing of professional competence.
- At the Commissioner's discretion, where the applicant has passed a comparable written examination or has continuously held a like license since before the examination was required; this does not reach producers exempt under section 4813i. ✓
- Where the applicant's home state grants the same waiver to Vermont residents, the waiver being reciprocal in operation and available as of right rather than at the discretion of the Commissioner of this State.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 4800(3)(B)(iv). Discretionary, and the carve-out for those already exempt under § 4813i.
What is the status of the documents a Vermont insurer furnishes under 8 V.S.A. § 4813m(f)?
- Confidential by law and privileged, not subject to 1 V.S.A. Chapter 5, to subpoena, or to discovery, and not admissible in a private civil action - though the Commissioner may use them in a regulatory or legal action. ✓
- They are public records once the Department has closed its file, the public records law of this State applying to the Department as to any other agency, and a private litigant being entitled to obtain them by ordinary discovery.
- They are confidential as against the producer concerned but available to any insurer considering an appointment, the purpose of the reporting scheme being to warn the industry about a producer terminated for cause.
- They are confidential for two years and then become public, the period corresponding to the licensing term, after which the Department treats the matter as closed and the file as open to inspection.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 4813m(f)(1) and (2). The reference to 1 V.S.A. chapter 5 is the Vermont public records law - expressly disapplied.
Under a 40% quota share reinsurance treaty, the ceding insurer pays a covered $1,500,000 loss. The reinsurer's share is:
- $400,000
- $600,000 ✓
- $900,000
- $1,500,000
Why: In a quota share, premiums and losses are split by a fixed percentage, so the reinsurer pays 40% of $1,500,000, or $600,000. The $900,000 is the ceding insurer's retained share.
What may the Commissioner do under 8 V.S.A. § 4246 about conduct not in conformity with the Plan?
- On finding that an insurer or advisory or service organization is not in conformity with the plan, the Commissioner may, after hearing, order the cessation of the conduct complained of. ✓
- For conduct not in conformity with the Plan the Commissioner may assess an administrative penalty of not more than $1,000 for each day on which the nonconforming conduct continues, and suspend the insurer's authority to write automobile insurance in this State until it conforms.
- Remove the insurer from participation in the Plan and reassign the business it has been given, the section treating exclusion from the mechanism as the sanction for refusing to work within it and leaving the insurer free to continue writing voluntary business in this State while it is excluded.
- Refer the matter to the Attorney General for prosecution without first holding a hearing, the section treating a breach of the Plan as a criminal matter because the Plan is the creature of a statute rather than of a contract.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 4246. THE HEARING COMES FIRST, the order is to CEASE, and the escalation for disobeying it is CHAPTER 101, SUBCHAPTER 12 - the cease and desist and penalties subchapter which contains section 3661.
What fees does 8 V.S.A. § 3541(f) impose on a form filing?
- A fee of $50 for each form filed and $150 for each form filed by a rating organization, the subsection charging by the form rather than by the submission so that a filing of ten forms carries ten fees.
- A fee of $100 per filing submission, refundable if the Commissioner disapproves the form, together with an annual filing fee payable by every rating, advisory or service organization which makes filings on behalf of members and subscribers doing business within this State during the year for which the fee is charged.
- No fee on an individual insurer's filing, and a fee of $150 on a rating organization's filing, the subsection placing the cost of form review on the organizations which file for the market as a whole.
- A nonrefundable fee of $50 per filing submission with each filing of a policy, contract, endorsement, rider, certificate or application form; and a minimum fee of $150 with each filing submitted by a rating, advisory or service organization. ✓
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3541(f). The $50 is PER SUBMISSION AND NONREFUNDABLE; the $150 is A MINIMUM, not a flat charge.
Loss of use (Coverage D) additional living expense is best triggered when:
- The mortgage is refinanced and the lender requires the insured to relocate during the closing
- A covered loss makes the residence uninhabitable, forcing the insured to live elsewhere ✓
- A guest is injured on the premises and needs lodging nearby
- The insured chooses to remodel voluntarily and moves to a rental for the duration of the work
Why: Additional living expense under Coverage D applies when a covered peril renders the home uninhabitable and the insured incurs increased costs to maintain their normal standard of living elsewhere.
What does 8 V.S.A. § 3882(a) require of an insurer that intends to renew?
- That it confirm in writing at least 45 days before expiration both its intention to renew and the premium at which the policy is to be renewed, if it has the necessary information to issue the renewal. The insured has the right to renew at that premium. ✓
- That it deliver the renewal policy itself at least forty-five days before expiration, the subsection requiring the document rather than a notice so that the insured can compare the terms before deciding whether to accept it.
- That it give written notice of the renewal premium at least thirty days before expiration, and that the premium quoted be one the Commissioner has approved for the class of business concerned, the insured being free to accept it at any time up to the expiration date and the insurer being bound by it until then.
- That it confirm its intention to renew at least sixty days before expiration, the premium being supplied separately not later than fifteen days before expiration so that the insured has two weeks in which to shop the renewal.
Why: 8 V.S.A. § 3882(a). The obligation is CONDITIONAL on the insurer HAVING THE NECESSARY INFORMATION - and the right to renew AT THAT PREMIUM is the insured's.
The Dwelling Under Construction endorsement is designed to:
- Cover a tenant's contents in a newly built dwelling until the owner's permanent policy is issued
- Add theft coverage to a finished home, which the unendorsed dwelling form leaves out entirely
- Provide earthquake coverage for the foundation and framing while the structure is being erected
- Adjust coverage and reporting for a home being built where value increases over time ✓
Why: The dwelling under construction endorsement tailors coverage to a home being built, where the insurable value grows as construction progresses.
In the Homeowners program, the loss assessment additional coverage is most relevant to which insured?
- A renter under an HO-4 form, whose landlord may pass building repair costs through as added rent
- A landlord who insures a rented dwelling and bills tenants for damage to common hallways
- The owner of a vacant home awaiting sale
- A condominium or association member who may be assessed for shared property damage ✓
Why: Loss assessment coverage helps pay an insured's share of an assessment charged by a homeowners or condo association for a covered loss to commonly owned property.
Under the BACF "who is an insured" provision, an employee using their OWN auto on company business is:
- An insured automatically under Symbol 2, owned autos subject to no-fault
- An insured for physical damage to their own auto, but not for liability
- Always an insured under the business's owned-auto symbols
- Generally not an insured for that personally owned auto under owned-auto symbols ✓
Why: An employee's own auto is not a covered "owned" auto; coverage for such use requires non-owned auto coverage (Symbol 9), and the employee is not an insured under owned-auto symbols.
Hired auto physical damage coverage under the BACF can be provided by:
- Symbol 7 alone, since it reaches every auto the insured operates, rented units included
- An endorsement to the workers compensation policy covering autos employees rent on trips
- Symbol 1, which covers any auto and so picks up hired units for physical damage
- Endorsement or designation that extends physical damage to autos the insured hires or rents ✓
Why: Physical damage on hired autos is added via the appropriate symbol (e.g., 8) or hired auto physical damage endorsement, often with a stated limit.
Under 18 U.S.C. § 1033, a person who has been convicted of a felony involving dishonesty or breach of trust is prohibited from engaging in the business of insurance unless:
- They pay a civil fine to the state insurance department and complete an ethics course
- They obtain written consent from the appropriate insurance regulatory official ✓
- Ten years have passed since the sentence and any supervised release were completed
- They retake the state producer licensing examination and pass it before reapplying
Why: Section 1033 bars such felons from the business of insurance affecting interstate commerce unless they obtain written consent from the appropriate state insurance regulator (under 1033(e)).
Which topics qualify and which do not under Regulation I-2000-02, section 6(G)?
- Any subject the provider can show relates to the business of insurance qualifies, and only prelicensing training is excluded, the regulation leaving the judgment to the provider subject to review on complaint.
- Technical insurance subjects qualify and everything else is excluded, so that ethics and agency management fall outside the programme because they concern the conduct of a business rather than the content of a policy, and a producer must take all twenty-four hours in coverage and rating subjects.
- Coverage, rating and policy content qualify; ethics, estate planning and agency management are left to the Commissioner's discretion on a case by case basis and carry credit only where the course has been individually certified.
- Qualifying examples: insurance coverage, rating, tax law, policy content, ethics, risk management, the Vermont Insurance Code and rules, estate planning and insurance agency management. Non-qualifying examples: sales, motivation, communication skills, prelicense training, and subjects not related to insurance. ✓
Why: Regulation I-2000-02, section 6(G)(1) and (2). SALES AND MOTIVATION ARE OUT; ETHICS AND AGENCY MANAGEMENT ARE IN - and both carry their own caps or floors under section 7(B).
A key feature of a risk retention group under federal law is that it:
- Must be chartered and owned by the federal government rather than by its insureds
- Once licensed in one state, may operate in other states without full licensing in each ✓
- May write property coverage only, never liability
- Is barred from issuing policies and may only broker them
Why: The federal Liability Risk Retention Act allows an RRG chartered and licensed in one state to do business in other states without obtaining a full license in each.
What does Regulation I-2010-03, section 5(I) and (J), provide about WITHDRAWAL?
- A filer may withdraw at any time and the status is always recorded as withdrawn, the Department drawing no distinction based on whether it had already raised objections to the filing being withdrawn.
- A filer may withdraw only with the Commissioner's consent, which will not be given once a substantive review has begun, and a previously approved filing may be withdrawn by notice without a fee, the approval lapsing on the date the notice is received by the Department from the licensee concerned.
- A withdrawal before final disposition entitles the filer to a refund of the filing fee, and a previously approved filing once withdrawn may be brought back into use at any time on notice to the Department without a fresh approval.
- Withdrawal before final disposition is recorded as withdrawn if no objection letter has issued and as disapproval - final if one has. Withdrawing a previously-approved filing needs the appropriate fee, and that filing must be re-submitted for approval before it can be used again. ✓
Why: Regulation I-2010-03, sections 5(I) and 5(J). By 5(I)(1) ALL FILINGS ARE PUBLIC RECORDS FROM THE MOMENT OF RECEIPT unless the filer has requested and received TRADE SECRET STATUS under Bulletin 150.
A Supplemental Extended Reporting Period (supplemental tail) differs from the basic ERP in that it:
- Is furnished automatically at no charge for 60 days after the policy expires
- Applies only to occurrence policies, since claims-made forms already report on a delayed basis
- Cuts the General Aggregate in half for every claim reported during the tail
- Must be purchased for additional premium and provides an unlimited reporting period ✓
Why: The supplemental ERP requires an extra premium and a written request, providing an unlimited reporting window for covered occurrences.
Who is a THIRD PARTY RECIPIENT under Regulation I-1995-01, S4(B), and who is not?
- Any person licensed as an insurance producer in this State, the definition following the licence rather than the function, so that an unlicensed person who holds premium money is outside the regulation altogether.
- Any person who holds funds for more than one business day, the definition turning on the duration of the holding rather than on the character of the holder, and excluding a person who passes funds on at once whatever the nature of that person's business or the volume of money moving through the arrangement.
- Included: agents, brokers, independent adjusters, managing general agents, consultants and any other entity receiving such funds. Excluded: federally insured depository institutions and licensed lenders. ✓
- Insurance agents and brokers only, adjusters and managing general agents being governed by their own regulations and banks being excluded in every case without exception, whatever transaction they may be engaged in.
Why: Regulation I-1995-01, S4(B). THE BANK EXCLUSION IS NOT ABSOLUTE - it lifts when the institution is doing something that itself requires an insurance licence.